We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my husband and 2 dogsFirst of all thank you for being so dog friendly.We stayed in principal room which was immaculate, spacious and with one of the best balconies ever.The view is spectacular beautiful sunsets, beach right on the doorstep.For a longer walk Westport is a 5 min drive along the road with parking and miles of lovely beach before you go back for your lovely breakfast.No w on to the food FABULOUS! Highest quality great choice for breakfast and dinner.Wine list great....lovely rioja to be enjoyed watching the world go by continued success , we will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sol60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    57
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
29
119
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The putechan lodge is where I visited a great aunt who lived there in the 60s. The new owners have made a fantastic job in making it such a beautiful place to spend the weekend. It brought back so many happy memories of my childhood.
Our room was well appointed although a little chilly but the heater took the chill out of the air very quickly. The staff are such a credit to the owners, extremely pleasant and professional in their duties.
The meals were excellent , very tasty and well presented. The breakfast especially was freshly made to order and was top notch.
Thanks to all who looked after us , and we will see you again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is fine, we stayed for three nights in summer of 2013. Location is good, rooms are OK although trying to look like a travelodge doesn't suit a west coast hotel. Food attempts to be fine dining but doesn't make the grade and is overpriced for what you get. The 8oz burger does not contain 8oz of burger! Service was mediocre and forgetful. The chip shop in Cambeltown does a great fish supper and you get the banter with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Highlander 641,

Thank you for you review on The Putechan. Unfortunately as we were not in the business at the time of your stay JULY 2013 it would unfair of us to give feedback on your stay, however myself and my husband have recently taken over the management of the hotel on the 2nd January 2014 and can assure you (as you can see from the reviews) that the food and the service has improved greatly and we hope to welcome you back to sample both.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We booked via 5pm website and got great deal, but it would have been worth it even without discount.

We had room 1 and, despite poor weather, I did brave it onto the decked balcony. Perhaps the room could have been a little warmer, but they had supplied a blow heater to augment the central heating. The decor throughout is modern and subdued, but suits the hotel well. The dining room has views out over the sea, as did our bedroom, as we had paid a small supplement to ensure a sea-facing room. Our double bed - consisting of two separate singles firmly locked together - was ginormous and comfortable. My wife almost needed a walking pole to prod me when I snored!

Our first night coincided with Stuart and Lena's first night off since taking over at New Year. The result was that the food - agency chef? - whilst OK, was not exceptional either in quality or presentation. The next night, with Stuart back in place, was much better - quality food, expertly cooked and nicely presented.

The staff as a whole were friendly and competent. Not a lot to do in the area at this time of year (mid Feb) and in poor weather, but that's what you expect when you book a couple of days away in this part of the world, so no complaints!

I wish Stuart and Len all the best in this venture: they will have their work cut out, but look quite able to cope!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for an upgraded room at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a two night stay at Putechan hotel. Everything was great - the room was spacious, really comfy beds, a wonderful, wonderful view and a lovely balcony to watch the crashing waves from. We had dinner both nights - lovely food and great value for money. Everyone friendly and helpful. Would love to go back for more!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caledonia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent refurbishment a few years ago & recent new young enthusiastic husband Stuart (chef) & wife Lena (events & house) management team
Very comfortable room 3 (balcony not used in February gale but waves mesmerising).
Valentine's dinner wonderful. Putechan newsletter deal good value.
Already re-booked for April says it all.(5pm or wowcher deal)

Room Tip: Very reasonable upgrade to balcony sea view at £10/night / room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m3doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear m3doc

Thank you for your review on the Putechan, Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you soon.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in January at the Putechan Hotel in a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the sea. It was very stylish with contemporary furnishings and an outstanding view. The first night we saw stars like we had never seen before as the sky was clear - quite unforgettable. I have never seen anything like it since Maui in Hawaii. The champion of this hotel is the chef. Absolutely brilliant. If you like to eat good food, this is the place to go. Fabulous beef and pork on the first night, with chocolate and raspberry creme brulee for pud - utterly fab. The first night we were there I had noticed a chap having lasagne and it looked lovely. On our second night, although it was not on the menu, I asked if the lasagne was available and the chef did a special one for me. How many places would do this? Breakfast was also fantastic. Would recommend this hotel for the most excellent food, wonderful location and friendly helpful staff. Could not ask for more. We will be back!! ps. Do not be put off by the busy road. It is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are on a busy main road which was quiet In January when we were there. An o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear JackieJ

Thank you for your review,
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all the lovely compliments, i have passed your comments on to the chef and he has an even bigger head now :-) We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Property: The Putechan Hotel
Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing