We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putechan Hotel stay”
Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Putechan Hotel stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Putechan Hotel on Kintyre and would highly recommend it for a relaxing stay. location right across from the sea is superb and about 10 miles from Cambeltown.
We were able to tour the whole of the Kintyre peninsula easily from the hotel.
We stayed in a principle room with balcony overlooking the sea which I guess in summer would be beautiful. The room was spacious comfortable and clean.
The food was also very good with about 7 choices from starters, mains and sweets. All food however was freshly prepared and nicely presented.
Breakfasts had a more limited menu especially if you did not want the cooked breakfast, although that was very good.
The accommodation could do with a more comfortable residents lounge rather than just the bar area but there was also a games room with pool table and darts board.
The new owners (from January 2014) and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times.
If you want a nice peaceful break with good food would recommend you give this hotel a go.

Room Tip: Ask for a principle room on the first floor overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvorHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear IvorHoliday

Thank you for your review on your stay at the Putechan, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased that you sampled and enjoyed the menu. We are currently looking at installing a comfortable lounge somewhere within the hotel so hopefully you will come back and visit us and be able to enjoy this.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    57
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
29
119
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kilwinning
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

never been to this area of scotland before....went as part of a voucher deal for two nights and was impressed with the hotel. the staff were really helpfull and very friendly. the food was beautiful and the rooms were fabulous! you really need a car here but there is such a lot to see within a few miles of this area, theres also a small beach across the road from the hotel. further down the road to campbeltown is westport beach which is miles long and really blows the cobwebs away!! would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: theres a games room tucked away at the back of the hotel...the kids will love it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank framealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear framealan,

Thank you for your feedback for your stay at The Putechan. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and i have passed your lovely comments on to the staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife have just returned from an excellent weekend (28/2 -2/3) at the Putechan. The hotel, which is in a brilliant location for exploring Kintyre, is outstanding and the staff are really friendly, a special mention must go to Leena and Stuart, who work their socks off to ensure that your stay is memorable. So much so that you felt that you were a guest in their own home. The room was a good size, very clean and a comfortable bed. It was slightly chilly but a fan heater was provided to compensate for this. I recommend paying the extra to upgrade to a principle room. The food was excellent and the wine list superb. The one small criticism we did have is that my wife is a vegan and the choice for her was limited, but the quality of what we did have was great. I would agree with another comment that a lounge area with soft seating would enhance the facilities in this great hotel.

We loved our weekend and will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Positives:
Great rural / coastal location;
Friendly and attentive staff;
Clean, comfortable and well appointed room;
Modern decor;
Great food and drink.

Negatives:
Absolutely nothing!

This hotel is a real gem. If you are looking for a break from it all in rural Scotland, I think you'd find it difficult to do better. Will definitely be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ragazzo160971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with my husband and 2 dogsFirst of all thank you for being so dog friendly.We stayed in principal room which was immaculate, spacious and with one of the best balconies ever.The view is spectacular beautiful sunsets, beach right on the doorstep.For a longer walk Westport is a 5 min drive along the road with parking and miles of lovely beach before you go back for your lovely breakfast.No w on to the food FABULOUS! Highest quality great choice for breakfast and dinner.Wine list great....lovely rioja to be enjoyed watching the world go by continued success , we will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sol60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The putechan lodge is where I visited a great aunt who lived there in the 60s. The new owners have made a fantastic job in making it such a beautiful place to spend the weekend. It brought back so many happy memories of my childhood.
Our room was well appointed although a little chilly but the heater took the chill out of the air very quickly. The staff are such a credit to the owners, extremely pleasant and professional in their duties.
The meals were excellent , very tasty and well presented. The breakfast especially was freshly made to order and was top notch.
Thanks to all who looked after us , and we will see you again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is fine, we stayed for three nights in summer of 2013. Location is good, rooms are OK although trying to look like a travelodge doesn't suit a west coast hotel. Food attempts to be fine dining but doesn't make the grade and is overpriced for what you get. The 8oz burger does not contain 8oz of burger! Service was mediocre and forgetful. The chip shop in Cambeltown does a great fish supper and you get the banter with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leena R, Manager at The Putechan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Highlander 641,

Thank you for you review on The Putechan. Unfortunately as we were not in the business at the time of your stay JULY 2013 it would unfair of us to give feedback on your stay, however myself and my husband have recently taken over the management of the hotel on the 2nd January 2014 and can assure you (as you can see from the reviews) that the food and the service has improved greatly and we hope to welcome you back to sample both.

Thanks
Leena & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#14 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Property: The Putechan Hotel
Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing