We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but needs a little TLC”
Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014 as part of a group on deal
We upgraded to a balcony room which was well worth the extra as the views from the rooms are stunning
The room was nice enough although it could do with a freshen up and a coat of paint also the free wifi did not seem to reach beyond the bar area
We only stayed for breakfasts as we were out during the day pretty basic although tasty enough a little understaffed but as it has just changed ownership that may be understandable
Overall a 6/10 with a little work could be a 8/10 lovely area very secluded and the nearby Westport beach a must visit

Room Tip: Balcony room a must have
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for The Putechan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

What can I say about this hotel. On arrival my heart sank as it looked so unkempt. Weeds grew everywhere and it really was a mess. The location however is stunning. The room appeared clean on first arriving but it needed more attention to detail eg, marks on walls not cleaned off, paintwork scuffed, corners not hoovered. All that said, the bed linen and towels were immaculate. The bed was really comfortable. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, the buffet consisted of cornflakes or Alpen, fruit juices which were not cold enough, a bit of fresh fruit then either a Scottish breakfast or porridge. The cooked breakfast was of poor quality and badly cooked and the porridge was just a solid inedible lump of stodge. We did not risk eating dinner here after sampling the breakfast. The tea and coffee was dreadful, very weak. During breakfast the kitchen staff were playing heavy metal music very loudly and laughing, not a relaxing atmosphere for the guests at all. Sadly we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Recently stayed for 1 night, have to say was disappointed. I had stayed towards the end of 2014 and gave a good review, this time i felt the standard had gone a little down hill, rooms were the same so no problem there, however the quality of food, service and bar stock had fallen. The menu was not as previous, obvious the chef had changed, last year the food and menu were to a high standard, breakfast does not start until 08.00, the continental breakfast consisted of either a pack of corn flakes or coco pops, a yogurt and a very small choice of fruit, very poor, no cold meats, cheese, pastries, bread, muesli etc
Wifi only in bar area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRR52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at the Putechan Hotel. To be honest we were quite apprehensive given the recent negative reviews. However we were very pleasantly surprised. From the moment we arrived we found the staff to be very attentive and very helpful. The hotel was lovely and the rooms spotless and tastefully decorated. The setting is spectacular and we were lucky with the weather on our 1st day. We ate in the hotel on the first night and found the service and food very good. Breakfast on both days was excellent as was the service. We wish all the staff well and thank them for lovely stay. Look forward to visiting the Putechan Hotel in the future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 2 night stay at the Putechan with friends. I must disagree with the recent reviews. We found all the staff to be both very professional and extremely helpful.
We found the rooms to be modern, well decorated and clean. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and found the food to be of an excellent standard (well presented and served quickly).
On our first morning we were leaving early to play golf (7.30am) and breakfast is served from 8-10 but the excellent chef went out of his way to make us a nice bacon sandwich and even gave us bottles of water to take with us.The full Scottish breakfast on the second morning was well cooked and efficiently served.
Special mention to the excellent chef Brendan who made the effort to speak to us and to Sandra and Karen and who kept us "well watered" throughout our stay.
All I would say to anyone who has read the recent negative reviews and is considering a stay at the Putechan is to ignore them and make up your own minds.
Thank you the Putechan for an excellent break. Rest assured we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern, well decorated and furnished to a high standard.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartymucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our recent stay in this beautiful part of argyll was spoiled by our experience in this hotel. We had stayed previously and enjoyed our stay.
It is a perfect location, the facilities including bedrooms and public rooms are very comfortable.
I think that the management changed 6 weeks ago. Since then most people seem to have had a similar experience to ours. The menu was the same each night we stayed. It was disappointing when this area is rich in
seafood. The breakfast was so disappointing, inadequate in content and poorly cooked.
There appeared to be too few staff all of whom were lacking training and were totally demoralised constantly apologising for
the deficits in stock and service.
Perhaps the hotel should have closed while dealing with recruiting, stocktaking in the bar, training, and menu planning!
It is dispiriting seeing what was a hotel with so much going for it, fail and disappoint its guests.
The new owner-manager could have done so much more to deal with his guests'dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. This hotel is in a beautiful situation but when we drove up, the first thing we noticed was the huge amount of weeds growing around the front entrance.
It is very obvious that the staff are 'new' and require to be trained much better than they are. The receptionist/barmaid/waitress (same woman) struggled to carry out all these tasks simultaneously and the pressure showed itself when we got our bill at the end of the holiday...we had been charged for 3 drinks which people had ordered from the bar when we were there!
There was no slimline tonic available, only some flat stuff from a large bottle. The bar seemed to be not well stocked and was devoid of basic items. Now the food...it appears that the chef who was to be employed changed his mind leaving only a trainee in post. This young man did his best at dinner but the portions were poor, food took a very long time to arrive and it could only be described as average. Breakfast was no feast either...cereals on offer were corn flakes and coco pops and the full scottish breakfast was not good with items missing from the plate. I asked for scrambled eggs with bacon and received a small portion of egg with one rasher of bacon. Not being satisfied by the small portion of food I had received, I asked for more toast and was given 'outsiders' as they had obviously run out of bread.
What this hotel needs is someone in charge who has knowledge of the business. It would not take long to have this place up and running smoothely but the pleasant and friendly staff need to be trained a lot better than they are now. Help required include a new trained chef and a gardener!

Room Tip: Sea views are exceptional...beautiful location.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishBluebell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
82 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing