We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Royal has been wholly refurbished over the past couple of years - and it shows. The superior room we stayed in was spacious, with a fabulous en suite. Bed one of the comfiest we have ever slept in. Staff were very helpful, and the bar a nice howf to share a beer and a dram. Only one slight quibble... whilst breakfast was good, and cooked to your specific order, they used a downmarket self-service coffee machine with sachets... which few guests could make work. Better to have a proper cup of coffee from a proper coffee pot. Otherwise though, truly excellent experience.

Room Tip: go superior - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stopped off for one night and were very pleased with the hotel. We had a beautiful first floor superior room, with a huge bed which had the most comfortable pillows and mattress. The décor was very tasteful with tartan throws, curtains and chairs. We had drinks in the 'Black sheep' pub which is adjacent to the hotel, small but had a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was nice but have had better. The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant. the only off putting thing was the strong smell of disinfectant which wafted along the first floor corridor on our entry.

Room Tip: Room 18 faced the front of the hotel with large windows and was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

hi. stopping in Kintyre. been to the royal twice now mainly for its proper yorkshire beer, the black sheep ale, brewed 14 miles from home in the yorkshire dales, realy pleasing to find a proper pub serving proper beer, not chemical lager. and real nice bar food to boot, the staff are a credit to the establishment, friendy helpfull and willing to help. thanks for two lovely bar meals and a reminder of what we are missing back home- proper ale. cheers from a true yorkshire man, "strong in t arm and thick in t head" kevin and family thirsk north yorkshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were over playing golf at the fabulous Macrihanish Dunes and staying in the cottages at the golf courses. We decided to go to the Royal for dinner where we were not disappointed. We were welcomed by friendly staff in the bar for a few pre dinner pints. We then went through to the restaurant where there is a nice setting. There was a lot on the menu to choose from with all types of food for all people. On choosing the steak I was far from disappointed when it came. A great night was had by all and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were overwhelmed by the Royal in Campbeltown. It was so fresh and new, renovated about a year ago, but still smells like a new car. So many excellent details in the very large rooms. Beautiful cabinetry, huge windows did a great job of insulating any street noises. Very comfy bed. They gave us a fan on request, since we get warm at night. Huge bathroom with separate shower and bath tub big enough for two. Period plumbing fixtures were admired. Fantastic service like a 5 star hotel. Free shuttle to one of the recognized golf links courses in the world, also shuttle to airport 10 minutes away. 2 blocks from Ferry Terminal. Excellent views of the bay available. Enjoyed the restaurant so much, we ate there every night. Included breakfast with full menu, not just continental. They had an attentive staff that excelled with professionalism and charm. Overall among the many hotels we have enjoyed worldwide over many years, this would be in the top 5. Small town with a big heart, so I rate it a top-tier hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. Lots of sunlight in the corner rooms. Fireplaces in some rooms of the 1907...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed two nights in The Royal Hotel in Campbeltown, Kintyre, Scotland. The superior rooms are very good. Spacious, good beds, nice views and a good bath room. We celebrated our daughters 13th birthday here, and they made her a very nice birthday cake. Very good. Also lunch and dinner in the pub (The Black Sheep) and their restaurant was very much OK. The only downside was the breakfast. The cooked breakfast is very OK, but the continental breakfast is too poor, when you take in consideration the price of the rooms and the positioning of the hotel. No fresh fruit platter (only some very green bananas and hard prunes). No other choices for on toast but jam and marmalade. There's a point for improvement. But overall, nothing to complain. A very good choice when visiting Kintyre.

Room Tip: Did't see the other rooms, but superior rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I want to thank you and many others for your kind words about our hotel and staff. At Machrihanish Dunes, we work very hard to provide the best accommodation, guest services and amenities possible – and we never stop looking for ways to improve. So your comments are greatly appreciated, and rest assured -- every comment is acted upon. We’re glad that you enjoyed your room, lunches and dinners – and that our cooked Scottish breakfast met your expectations. Many guests have told us that its quality is among the best they’ve enjoyed in Scotland. We are also happy that your daughter enjoyed her birthday celebration with us. Doing little things like making sure someone has a nice cake for their birthday is what we’re all about. We’re sorry to hear, though, that the continental breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. For the record, we try each day to offer a wide range of continental breakfast item choices ranging from cereals and pastries (croissants and Danish) to fresh berries, bananas, yogurt, coffees and teas. It is possible that we had run out of some of the items I’ve listed by the time you’d arrived. That does not happen often at all, but on unusually busy mornings or on days when our suppliers have sent us less than we’ve ordered, it is possible. This is a situation that we are looking at closely with an eye toward completely eliminating it, because we want everyone’s stay with us at Machrihanish Dunes to be perfect and to be the best hotel experience you’ve ever experienced anywhere. We will continue to welcome any and all feedback and to make adjustments until we exceed the expectations of each and every guest. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. I hope you will come back to Machrihanish Dunes soon and give us the chance to make your next visit even more enjoyable than your last.

Sincerely,
Greg Sherwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel situated at the end of the main street, and looking on to the famous Campbeltown Loch.

The staff were really helpful, the food was delicious and the actual bedroom was one of the nicest we have stayed in in the UK!The walk in shower was a dream, they supplied bath robes however they were too luxurious to walk about in. It was sheer luxury.

If you want a change from the hotel try the lovely cafe opposite the tourist information for the best fish we have tasted in a long time.

If you have an extra day or so why not take the kintyre ferry (no vehicles but do take bikes!) over to Ballycastle in Northern Ireland. £60 per return and well worth a visit. The pilot was a wealth of information on the entire trip. Go on Go on Go on!!

Room Tip: Room 111 has triple aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.1 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
86 reviews
20.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,792 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
5 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £113 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of Campbeltown and just 8 km from the award-winning golf courses of Machrihanish, the newly restored Royal Hotel provides unrivalled luxury accommodation to the Kintyre Peninsula. Enjoy marvelously appointed guest rooms, fine dining at The Harbourview Grille and spirited good times at The Black Sheep Pub, all overlooking the picturesque Campbeltown Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing