We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Argyll Arms hotel”
Review of Argyll Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyll Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Reviewed 13 June 2011

With friend on motorbike trip. Excellent room, clean, fresh and spacious.lovely dining room, had very nice dinner in hotel, breakfast was good and wholesome.
Relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, owners Peter and Valentina made us very welcome.
Enjoyed our chat and jokes with Peter in hotel bar after dinner.
Will definately come back----Richie and Drew

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank Suzukibandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

Staying outside of Campbeltown and when wandering around the town, saw the High Tea advertised in the hotel window. We walked through the door around 5.30pm, myself, husband and toddler.
There were two staff behind the reception when we walked up. The first girl, with her back to me, walked straight out of the reception to the dining hall without acknowledging us. The second girl, whom I assumed would serve us, walked out of the reception to serve a guest at the bar, again, no acknowledgement. We waited at the reception because we thought, they may be shorted staffed, getting ready for dinner service so didn't say anything. My wee toddler ran through the reception and into the bar area where I caught him and apologised. So the staff knew we were still at the reception but they still didn't come through to see what we wanted.
We saw some elderley ladies coming through the door and gathering in the main bar area. Eventually, 10 minutes later, staff member one came back from dining room and I said we were here for dinner. She picked up a menu and said, well "Well we would serve you but we have a group of 12 booked in for 5.30 so we will have to deal with them first and then you." She asked if we still wanted to eat but by that point I thought let's not bother and left.
We hadn't stayed in the hotel, only popped in for dinner but the lasting impression was incredibly rude service, they didn't care about our custom, they had a booking for 12 so didn't need our money. Will never go back to that hotel and was quite ashamed that you could still get that kind of service in Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank LMSScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Spent another enjoyable Hogmanay at the Argyll Arms. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. This hotel is like a 'home from home' and the food is excellent. Thanks again to our hosts Peter and Val...we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Just had our 2nd Hogmanany celebrations at the Argyle Arms Hotel with Peter & Val great value for money, food excellent, Hotel clean and warm a typical scottish hotel all staff very friendly good location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0sgr0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My colleagues and I stayed in this hotel and were initially worried as the photos on the website did not exactly sell the place. We had a great stay in a very clean, warm and welcoming hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the rooms were spaciouse and clean (a wee bit old fashioned) but its Campbeltown and not Dubai you are in. I would certainly go back and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Worst hotel I have had the mispleasure of staying in. Run down, cold, unwelcoming, and the food was terrible. Had to go out for a sandwich after dinner it was so bad. Nearly killed myself in the corridors thay are so dark and dreary. Decor awful, rooms awful, bar awful, food awful but other then that.............

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tmacrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Just like to say thanks to Val & Peter for making me feel welcome. Have stayed at the Argyll many times and have always found the staff and managament extremely friendly. Merry Xmas & Happy new Year to you all.

Jim
.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
Thank Jim166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
590 reviews
8.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
233 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#11 of 19 in Campbeltown
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Price Range: £77 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Argyll Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for your accommodation requirements the Argyll Arms Hotel has a vantage location on the Main Street of town. There are 25 en suite bedrooms, all have colour TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and direct dial telephones. At the rear of the hotel is a private car park. The spacious, elegant dining room offers the best of Scottish Fayre. In addition to a cosy lounge bar, the cocktail bar with its associated function suite is the ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Arms Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing