We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyll Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Carradale(Campbeltown)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
15
28
24
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
28
24
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingdecor is datedlarge roomseen better daysshower roomgood nights sleepcooked to perfectionbreakfast was excellentvalcereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

With friend on motorbike trip. Excellent room, clean, fresh and spacious.lovely dining room, had very nice dinner in hotel, breakfast was good and wholesome.
Relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, owners Peter and Valentina made us very welcome.
Enjoyed our chat and jokes with Peter in hotel bar after dinner.
Will definately come back----Richie and Drew

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank Suzukibandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Staying outside of Campbeltown and when wandering around the town, saw the High Tea advertised in the hotel window. We walked through the door around 5.30pm, myself, husband and toddler.
There were two staff behind the reception when we walked up. The first girl, with her back to me, walked straight out of the reception to the dining hall without acknowledging us. The second girl, whom I assumed would serve us, walked out of the reception to serve a guest at the bar, again, no acknowledgement. We waited at the reception because we thought, they may be shorted staffed, getting ready for dinner service so didn't say anything. My wee toddler ran through the reception and into the bar area where I caught him and apologised. So the staff knew we were still at the reception but they still didn't come through to see what we wanted.
We saw some elderley ladies coming through the door and gathering in the main bar area. Eventually, 10 minutes later, staff member one came back from dining room and I said we were here for dinner. She picked up a menu and said, well "Well we would serve you but we have a group of 12 booked in for 5.30 so we will have to deal with them first and then you." She asked if we still wanted to eat but by that point I thought let's not bother and left.
We hadn't stayed in the hotel, only popped in for dinner but the lasting impression was incredibly rude service, they didn't care about our custom, they had a booking for 12 so didn't need our money. Will never go back to that hotel and was quite ashamed that you could still get that kind of service in Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank LMSScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Spent another enjoyable Hogmanay at the Argyll Arms. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. This hotel is like a 'home from home' and the food is excellent. Thanks again to our hosts Peter and Val...we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Just had our 2nd Hogmanany celebrations at the Argyle Arms Hotel with Peter & Val great value for money, food excellent, Hotel clean and warm a typical scottish hotel all staff very friendly good location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0sgr0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My colleagues and I stayed in this hotel and were initially worried as the photos on the website did not exactly sell the place. We had a great stay in a very clean, warm and welcoming hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the rooms were spaciouse and clean (a wee bit old fashioned) but its Campbeltown and not Dubai you are in. I would certainly go back and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews