We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, friendly service, good value no frills food”
Review of Cafe Bluebell

Cafe Bluebell
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quick, friendly service, good value no frills food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We visited twice during our stay in Campbeltown. Both times the cafe was busy, yet despite this the food was served very quickly. They serve an All Day Breakfast, which my husband enjoyed, and I was more
than happy with the homemade broccoli and cheese quiche, served with chips and salad. The kids were happy with the mac n cheese. The cake selection looks delicious but we didn't try any. With drinks it came to just over £20 for a family of 4.

Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    45
    17
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good service - great place!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Looking for a lovely lunch & that's what we got!
Visited today as a party of four for a light lunch. Cafe was busy but we were seated straight away. Menu is quite extensive with a variety of different sorts of meals; sandwiches, soups, macaroni cheese, fish & chips, etc. We had soup of the day which was Chicken & Sweetcorn and I also had a tuna mayo sandwich. Both were lovely. Portion size was decent & the food came fairly quickly. Staff were friendly & quick to take our order. Only negative was finding a rogue bit of cheese on my tuna sandwich!
We didn't have any of the cakes offered but they too looked lovely.
Would definitely recommend to all!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewerx16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best by far”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Went in for lunch today. There was a queue waiting for tables which is always a good sign. Took about 5mins to get a table. Had a great lunch at £20 for three of us. Service was very good. Food was excellent. Price was fantastic. This might be rated 2nd restaurant in Campbeltown but for me it is no1. Coffee was far better than in Southend. Considering we had 3 lunches for not much more than 3 cakes at Southend. I'll go here every time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aw19709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbarchan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's the busiest place in Campbeltown”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A very busy day, 4 of us looking for a table. Offered seats a 2 separate tables but put us all together when a bigger table became available . Staff and service were excellent. Food was ok, kids mac and cheese and adults mac and cheese had a £2 difference and the only difference was the adult portion had a small salad. Cakes were delicious , have the butterscotch sponge.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendykilbarchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everyone wants to eat at the Cafe Bluebell”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When our group of 7 arrived at the Bluebell it was very busy. The staff were very happy to help us put two table







When our party of 7 arrived at the Bluebell for a late lunch it was very busy. The staff were most helpful and put 2 tables together for us. We ordered a mix of All Day Breakfast, soup, toasties, child meal, teas, coffees and other drinks. We also asked for a jug of water and it arrived while we were deciding on what to order. The mushroom soup was absolutely delicious. We all thoroughly enjoyed every bit of our lunch. The empire biscuits look scrummy, however, by the time we got to the sweet treats they had sold out! Even though the staff, owner included, were run off their feet at no time were they curt nor did they make us feel they were too busy to take care of us. Customer service is often compromised at busy times, but, definately not at the Bluebell. We had looked at other places in Campbeltown which were not busy. We now know why! Well done Cafe Bluebell.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sisters82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bluebell also viewed

Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Cafe Bluebell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing