We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real pub!”

The Black Sheep Pub
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Campbeltown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Balfron, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A real pub!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Although part of The Royal Hotel the Black Sheep pub has its own entrance and the charm of a real pub just across the road at the harbour. Several fonts and food is available. Friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    59
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great pub food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very nice but small pub within the hotel, always busy but there's a great atmosphere and its used by a lot of the locals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carribe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our new 'local'”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was excellent based right in the Centre of town. All staff very friendly, food and drink excellent and our daily link to civilization via the free wifi! One of the places we miss most about our trip to Scotland lol!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A bit pricey but good atmosphere. Ate there before and was very noisy as there was a 'hen' party starting off. We moved to teh restaurant which was really good and offered the same menu

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Went to the black sheep yesterday afternoon with a group of friends. We must have spent around £500 on drinks plus we all had something to eat. As is normal when u r out socialising in a large group we were laughing and having fun. One of the group started to sing and some of us joined in. There was only three other people in the bar and a member of the bar staff came and advised our group we were being offensive and inconsiderate to other customers (the song was the gambler, he obviously didn't like our choice of music!) We all had been drinking but were not being abusive or falling over jst simply having fun. We apologised to the other customers ( who all said they did not have any problem or concern with our allegedly offensive behaviour) and promptly left!! Very unhappy we were treated in this way especially as we spent a large amount of money and did nothing wrong. Obviously this bar/hotel only wants to cater for wealthy golfers and don't want local custom to keep them going through the winter months. If u are planning on visiting this bar/hotel please be aware any form of enjoyment appears to be frowned upon. Will not be returning and most definitely will make friends and family aware of the treatment we received.

Helpful?
7 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
At The Black Sheep, as at all of the facilities of the Village at Machrihanish Dunes, our foremost concern is with the safety and comfort of our guests. We take pride in being able to offer everyone excellent food and spirited good times in a safe, family-friendly atmosphere. We have nothing at all against people having fun. It’s what the Black Sheep is all about. We encourage everyone to come and have a great time—and that often includes some good-natured singing. But when, in the judgment of our staff, an individual or group is clearly disturbing other patrons, it is our policy to politely ask that the merriment be toned down a bit so that everyone in the establishment can enjoy their visit. We have discussed your review with the staff members who were present and we believe that it was entirely appropriate for them to have politely asked your group, which had been in the pub for some number of hours and was reportedly so loud that conversations could not be held elsewhere in the pub, to please tone it down. We consider these requests entirely appropriate, and are sorry that they have resulted in your negative review of our establishment. The Black Sheep regularly receives very good reviews from local residents and international visitors alike. These reviews are posted here on Trip Advisor and available for all to read and judge for themselves. As a final note, we would like to make it clear that we value very highly the patronage of all our guests, wherever they come from. And we are particularly mindful of the importance of being a good neighbor. Ever since the opening of the Black Sheep and the rest of the Machrihanish Dunes resort, we have gone to great lengths to welcome and support our local community—not only with our genuinely warm hospitality but also with things like financial grants to local organizations and the many public services performed by our employees. To suggest that we would ever treat anyone who walks through our doors unfairly or unequally is, in our view, an opinion that is entirely without merit.

Greg Sherwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Sheep Pub also viewed

Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to The Black Sheep Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing