We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for price paid”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for price paid”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The rooms could do with updating but we were very pleased with the large room we were given which overlooked the main street. Thought the breakfast set up was good but did find the toaster a bit of a nuisance to use. The staff were really friendly and was a good location for exploring Campbeltown

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
8
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here with some mates on a trip. The rooms all need updated. The bed was lumpy but sheets clean. The staff were good and can only work with what they have. Breakfast was plentiful as you can make toast and help yourself to cereal. The cook breakfast was not bad either. I would not have stayed here with my wife but for a guys trip it was cheap and was fine for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auchtubh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile


Staff;. Receptionist very friendly and attentive with a good quick check in.

Room; The rooms have very small door numbers, these small 2' discs have been painted over, making it difficult to ascertain if you are at the correct room.
Rooms are In urgent need of a major overhaul. The room was slightly above freezing on entry and remained constantly cold throughout the night.
No central heating with a small electric convection heater, unable to use for prolonged period of time as this exacerbated the strong smell of urine emanating from the carpeted toilet. Toilet carpet was ancient and the scene of a thousand miss-fires.
A howling Argyll gale rattled the single paned window through the night.
Mattress had more bumps than a camel train.

Food. Did not dine in Hotel but bar area looked busy. Breakfast was below average. A hot water urn provides luke-warm tea.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chukchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Campbeltown hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We ate here last month with our two kids. We never stayed, but were camping nearby. The service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome with our young children. The food was all made on the premises, the ingredients good quality and the portions were generous. There are clearly some talented chefs operating in the kitchen. The kids meals were also of the same high standard. Pizza, made on the premises, their own bases - delicious. Macaroni, a delicious recipie with a proper white sauce with a hint of mustard. Fish and Chips: huge portion, crispy batter containing perfectly cooked fresh haddock, and the chips were chunky and amazing. The wine was also lovely. All told, excellent value for money and I would definitely go back if I'm ever down that way again. Scotland needs more places like this, people that understand what quality produce is all about and can serve it up for a fair price. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have stayed here for 3 nights week for the spast 4 months. Big rooms that get cleaned every day most of the double rooms has a bath or shower. The hotel is in an very good location to all the shops and other bars .All round a great place great staff and amazing food 10 out of 10. Entertenment on most nights.




  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspatria, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We didnt stay in the hotel so I cant comment on the rooms but we ate here twice, great food, very very good value for money and very friendly and helpfull staff, will definitely eat here again.
The beer was very good too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for the second time in May 2012. as it is a work visit I don’t get much of a choice of where to stay. The check in was prompt and friendly, I was given directions to my room. The room was a double for single use and was extremely dated. The carpets were work, the décor tired and the curtains appeared to be charity shop rejects. the bed however was comfortable with clean white linen. The bathroom was my biggest gripe. The shower was poor and the remains of the previous occupant were visible (Pubic Hairs) There was also accumulated dirt in the grating of the Basin plug hole and the toilet seat wobbled . Now hands up here. I can not really hold these faults too much against the hotel as I did not raise them at the time therefore not affording the proprietor chance to rectify the situation. As a lone male traveller I was more concerned with what was downstairs ( Pub and Restaurant!)

The food here was some of the best I have had when travelling for work, I had the Garlic Bread with Cheese and a ribeye steak. The steak was cooked perfect to my request ( Medium Rare) the portions were generous and I left delighted and utterly stuffed. The beer ( Peroni) was crisp and cold.

I returned to my room and had a great nights sleep, I was still too full in the morning to take breakfast so cant comment on that!

I will happily stay here again if sent by work, However it is not aplace I would choose to take the family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingmatt748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbeltown hotels
0.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wellhouse
The Wellhouse
#17 of 19 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#14 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small privately owned hotel in middle of town offering budget rooms with TVs, Tea and coffee making facilities. All en-suite. Good quality acclaimed food and drink in our bars and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing