We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad Occasion - but this helped”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardshiel Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardshiel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johnshaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sad Occasion - but this helped”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We reluctantly booked into this hotel for bed and breakfast to attend the funeral of a beloved friend the next day. The welcome we got upon arrival was warm and comforting. Although we were beyond evening meal time we were provided with a delicious and wholesome plate of salad delivered to our rooms.(while we were out visiting the family of our friend). The next day, although I had not thought to have a huge breakfast, the menu was too inviting and I was tempted by the smoked fish with scrambled egg. My husband and daughter chose full English. We could not find a single fault with any aspect of our stay - in fact quite the reverse. The staff were just lovely at all times. We found ourselves back later that day for the funeral 'tea'. Once again, the staff were super. Nothing was a bother and the food was excellent. All in all although our visit was for an extremely sad reason the attention we got helped.to make it as pleasant a stay as one could wish.

Room Tip: Thinking of this specific aspect - I am not sure I saw much in the way of disabled access. Perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    44
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
62
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Cannot be beaten for food and service. Easily could go through the entire menu. Food was so tasty, hot and excellent quality. Service was very attentive and you are made as though you are the only one there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a fine example of a business that 'gets it'. Attitude is altitude and Ardshiel Hotel is a high flyer. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and it was quiet. The newly renovated whisky bar is beautiful and oh so well stocked with Springbank Society Bottlings. Flora is very kind and a pleasure to know.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Called in on way past, thinking we would be too early for food. No problems at all. Were seated in the lovely whiskey bar and given menus to look at until food service started half an hour later. Nice, friendly staff. Food lovely and plentiful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP29KBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

By chance dropped off by a taxi driver and has a great meal and night at the Ardshiel. Really nicely presented, clean toilets and if you like whiskey.... The service was fast, efficient and all staff were pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a fantastic gem of a hotel this is! A warm welcome from Flora and then a hard negotiation on the price of a bottle of whiskey!! Your a terrific mine host Flora.

Rooms were clean and comfortable and the food at both dinner and breakfast was really good, but the highlight of our trip was the social engagement in the bar. All the staff were really friendly and very helpful and the non residents were a great bunch of people, what a friendly atmosphere in this hotel.

Terrific selection of whiskeys and some right good beer and lager on tap.

Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very welcoming stay at the Ardshiel. The staff could not do enough for us. The rooms were big and very clean and the food was great. We arrived on a sunny day and spent the afternoon in the garden enjoying lunch and a couple of local beers.

We were a little tired so decided to stay in at the hotel bar. Great decision, the whisky selection is one of the best in Scotland and the owners Flora and Marion are gracious hosts and will gladly give you a tour of their rare to find scotches.

A must if you are visiting Campbeltown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.2 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardshiel Hotel

Property: Ardshiel Hotel
Address: Kilkerran Road, Campbeltown PA28 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ardshiel Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing