We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Joys of Oatfield House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oatfield Country House B&B
Ranked #5 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Oatfield House B&B succeeds in combining the warmth of a traditional family feeling with generous amenities for its guests in a rich historical setting. The comfort we felt there was rare. In addition, our hostess, Leslie, gave kind attention to personal detail. Oatfield House deserves the full maximum of 5 stars… it is worth even more. John, Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Oatfield Guest House (a fully restored 18th century mansion) is permeated with refinement. The sensitive taste which a person percieves throughout Leslie's home, together with her down to earth, authentic care for the well-being of her guests, individually, gave us a very unique experience. The freshness of the white, fluffy bedding and the comfortable bed itself guaranteed excellent sleep. The bathroom and shower facilites were spotless and inviting.
Leslie's breakfast was the most generous on our trip (I had the feeling.. fresh and organic from local country producers). I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lovely traditional guest house set in its own grounds. The owners are extremely accommodating and couldn't have done more for us. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast was one of the best we've had. It's one of the best in the Campbeltown area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Fascinating old home. Owner seemed a bit distracted but helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughesnetWesternMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Oatfield is a most beautiful large country house set in quiet countryside.

The rooms are immaculate and the beds were very comfortable and ensuite facilities were first class.

Lesley was most welcoming and in the evenings we were able to sit around with other guests in the huge lounge with a roaring log fire and endless coffee.

Would recommend this B and B wholeheartedly and if we are in the area again will definately stay here..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

If you're looking for a tranquil location to enjoy this stunning part of Scotland, then I would highly recommend Oatfield House. The hosts welcome you into their beautiful home and the atmosphere is completely relaxed. The lounge, with its open fire, is for guests to sit in and chill out. The rooms are full of character and very clean. Great breakfast with the addition of porridge cooked overnight on the aga! Just a wonderful place to stay in and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola25261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We came to Campbeltown in plain thunderstorm and it was such a luck to find this marvellous site to survive. It was the best B&B stay we experienced on our tour through Scotland. The house is very interesting with its history and the hospitality of the owners is fabulous. Unfortunately we had rain all the day and could not enjoy the peaceful surroundings of the house in plain countryside, far away from noise and pollution.
But we always will remember the hours at the fireplace in the cosy living room and the home made porridge for breakfast....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanbruehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
2.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Campbeltown
83 reviews
22.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
9.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Campbeltown
231 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oatfield Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oatfield Country House B&B

Address: Oatfield House Southend Rd, Campbeltown PA28 6PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something a bit special? Oatfield is a small Scottish Country House set in its own private grounds and enjoying a quiet rural situation, just outside Campbeltown. Built in 1780 for the local laird, it has been fully modernised yet retains a wealth of period features and charm. Fully en-suite. Cosy guest sitting room with roaring log fire. Breakfasts served in an antique panelled dining room. Centrally heated and with free WiFi throughout. A walkers heaven. Private parking. Scottish Tourist Board four star accredited. Sheer tranquility... If you're looking for interesting, comfortable accommodation with a warm, friendly welcome and a great breakfast, you'll be delighted to have discovered Oatfield House! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oatfield Country House B&B Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing