We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duck!”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The new owners Ian & Nick are intending to upgrade the hotel which has seen little change in the years I have stayed there.
It is a homely hotel with good plain cooking which is plentiful, prices are reasonable and good value.
Remember to duck if the room has a sloping ceiling.
Ian and Nick are good hosts and very helpful nothing seems to much bother.
PS biggest swimming pool ever!

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer the beach than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely hotel and super staff.
Fantastic dog friendly atmosphere.
Food was top grub with a great selection.
Well equipped and clean rooms with great views.
Well looked after..... Staff were willing to help with anything.
Location is right on the beach but close enough to local town for any other needs.
Fyneales beer available!
Would and will return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ally1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Fantastic location, beautiful views across the sea to Islay and Jura,

Ian, Nick, Scott and all the staff really make your visit highly enjoyable,

Terrific food and a great place to just relax and enjoy the experience.

Spent the Easter Weekend there with my wife and dog. We all thoroughly enjoyed it!

Would highly recommend this hotel to any visitors to Kintyre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Terrific visit once again! Ian and Nick always make you so welcome, as do all the staff,wether staying in the hotel,in for a meal or even just a drink!
Having been to the area many times this is certainly one of the best places to be!
Most definately be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thank you to Iain, Nick and all other staff for a fantastic Easter break! Stunning location, fantastic food (and wine!) and an excellent warm welcome!! Lovely comfortable hotel with cosy bar. Very dog friendly!! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muttock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a great friendly welcome, Ian and Nick make you feel at home straight away.
The prosecco is lovely and not too expensive, we stayed for dinner and one night.
The rooms were spotless and had everything you needed including tea, coffee and scrummy biscuits.

Our evening meal was delicious and very reasonable for the two or three courses.
Breakfast was also really good and you could get anything you wanted, how you wanted it.
With stunning views, a gorgeous wee beach nearby and Ian and Nicks welcome and lovely food this place is a real winner, we will be back even though it is a trek from Edinburgh; but worth it !.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nockster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had an evening meal here on the 8th of April. We had reserved a table and requested a high chair. My 2 year old nephew was with us and before we had ordered dinner one of my dining companions was told whilst in charge of my nephew that it was a restaurant and my nephew had to calm down. We only discovered this after the meal. If we had known at the time we would have chosen to leave. I understand children can sometimes be badly behaved in restaurants and this can be off putting to other diners, but on this occasion this was not the case. The food we had was good and no complaints. However the attitude of this staff member regarding my nephew would make me think twice before going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
8.2 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
85 reviews
22.6 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
8.4 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
292 reviews
8 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#17 of 19 in Campbeltown
21 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Argyll Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argyll Hotel sits on Bellochantuy bay, 10 miles north of Campbeltown on the beautiful Kintyre peninsula. It is a small hotel with eight bedrooms, most boasting sea views of the Atlantic across to the islands of Islay, Jura and Gigha. The conservatory restaurant and lounge area give panoramic views of the ocean and islands too. A great place to chill and relax and of course to eat, with lunches and dinners served daily. Sit on our outdoor terrace and listen to the waves cascading onto the white sandy beach of the curved bay. The terrace leads directly onto the beach where you can walk off your dinner or build up your appetite before dinner. A great place too for children to play or to walk your dog. The hotel dates back to the late eighteenth century when it was built as a coaching inn and has remained as a hotel to this day. Modernised over the years, the hotel still retains the feel of an old west coast hotel with is cosy snug bar, but has the modern conveniences of en suite rooms with TV, free wi-fi access and an affordable restaurant meaning you do not have to leave the comfort of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing