We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch”
Review of Seafield Hotel

Seafield Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seafield Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Had a beautiful lunch with family for Fathers Day and was excellent value. There was "No" food out of frozen packets...... it was all homemade and very tasty.

Thank you and Keep up the good work Chef

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for business. Staff were very friendly -food was excellent highly recommend the haggis starter. Going back next week for another 3 nights-can't wait!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob198128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went with the family at the weekend. Tried to book either the Seafield or Ardshiel but since we needed 3 rooms we were given the annex behind the Seafield. The rooms are nicely done, very clean and has a charm to it. The walls are pretty thin and you can hear your neighbours but you get that in most hotels. We would have preferred the main hotel but the rooms were lovely anyway, but we would have thought the price would have been a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LynneMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed at the Seafield after not being able to book the Ardshiel. We were in the Annex at the back. Eight lovely rooms in the annex. Slight criticism on the paper thin walls.

Went to the Ardshiel for dinner two nights in row and was not disappointed. Only criticism was the service was too fast. As soon as our starter was eaten our mains came straight away, no time to digest. The whisky bar is amazing and the staff are very informative with the whiskys. They are doing up the Ardshiel at the moment and it will be great once done. Would have like to staff in the hotel itself but the rooms were great anyway

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We recently stayed at the seafield hotel in the recently refurbished annex building. The rooms have been completed to a very high standard. They were very clean, comfortable and had excellent facilities. The staff made us feel very welcome and nothing was a problem for them. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable break and we have already booked again to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The hotel is now run by the Ardshiel Hotel down the street. Some things I couldn't find out until it was too late:
-Half their rooms are in what they call the "annex", a separate building down an alley behind the main building. The front of the hotel has a lovely view of Campbeltown Harbor. You're not assured of that view in the main building, but you've got no chance if you're in the annex. So you might want to ask which building you're in.
-The Seafield has no Internet access.............in 2011! This is so basic I never even asked. You have to go hang out in the public areas of the Ardshiel to get connected.
-The telly options are extremely limited. I stayed on the night of the Barca Man U Champions League Final. I asked in the Seafield if I could get the game. "Channel 3," came the reply. Channel 3 is the BBC. They don't carry the game.
-I had the following problems in the annex: a light that din't work, a sink drain I had to hold open, a toilet seat that wouldn;t stay up by itself. None of these was a big problem in itself, just signs of a shoddy operation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inchkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We wanted to stay in Campbeltown whilst MOKfest was on, and quickly found that all the hotels in the area were booked up, apart from this one. We're so glad the Seafield had vacancies - what a find!

We got their last room, which was a twin, but to our surprise when we got there we had been upgraded to a double and it was a fantastic room.

The room had brand new everything, and was really clean but with a homely feel. The staff were really friendly, even rummaging around to find me a sewing kit.

Breakfast was made to order and was really good quality and cooked really well. At breakfast the owner chatted to us, he was really friendly but not intrusive, he had a great knowledge of the area and even gave us a free geography lesson!

We will definitely be returning there soon - I couldn't recommend Seafield highly enough.

Ruth and Anthony from Brighton.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.6 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#11 of 19 in Campbeltown
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Hotel

Address: Kilkerran Road | Argyll, Campbeltown PA28 6JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handsome stone villa set on the shores of Campbeltown Loch. The Seafield Hotel was built in 1836 for J & A Mitchell - Owners of Springbank Distillery. Private car parking. Bar and Lounge, with free WiFi Internet Access. Discounted green fees @ Machrihanish Golf Club. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seafield Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing