We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday three generations had a wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Post Office

Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage Old Post Office
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Old Post Office Holiday Cottage
Old Post Office
Spacious enclosed garden, ideal for young children and dogs
External view of additional bedrooms
Entrance with plenty of space for parking
Rear garden
Garden with BBQ seating area
View of the cottage from the beach
View along the beach south
View along beach North to A'Chleit
View out to Cara from the beach at Muasdale
Gentle waves on the shore at Muasdale beach
There's nothing better than getting your bare feet in the sand!
Beach fishing from Muasdale
All welcome to come play at the beach
Jura, Gigha and Cara at dusk
Sunset over Islay
Sunset from the garden
Sunset as seen from the Old Post Office
Settle in for the night (or day) with a lovely wood/coal burning stove
Open plan living room with wood/coal burning stove, Sky TV, Wi Fi and Wii for kids (or adults!)
Open kitchen
Open kitchen with converted cart entrance window
Dining table, seating for 8 adults with 2 smaller children's chairs
Spacious ground floor double bedroom, ideal for restricted accessability guests
Plenty of space for manouvering around with lovely views out to the islands
Spacious Double bedroom on first floor
First floor double room with views out to the islands
Very spacious kids/single room with pull out beds if required
Alternate view of kids/single room with easy acces to the first floor shower room
First floor wet room
First floor wet room
Creel, this particular one is available for guests to use and with luck to catch a lobster
Tv, Xbox and reading spot for kids
View from A' Chleit along to the Old Post Office
The isle of Cara
Our own unique window ledge
Shells on our beach inspired window
This is a Conch shell which unfortunately is not a local!
View out to BBQ seating area
A smaller Conch shell
View of our rocky kitchen window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Bacup
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family holiday three generations had a wonderful time”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wonderful cottage in a beautiful location Three generations had a fantastic time in this well equipped

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karensmit...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunnng views,”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The location is stunning with views of Cara & Gigha which is only a short ferry trip away (would recommend a day trip there). The beach is at the end of the garden with its beautiful white sands and clear water, my 3 year old loved building sand castles and paddling in the sea.....YES in September in Scotland!!! The house itself is like a home from home with lots of original features and an open fire to cosy up in front of as well as plenty of games, films and Xbox to keep the kids entertained if you can get them in from beach. Great place to stay and explore the Kintyre area, wee visited Campbeltown, West Port, Tarbert and Skipness. Looking forward to a third visit as it just gets better & better x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielled...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a perfect wee treasure”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a gem of a house and location, the house is cosy and very comfortable. When we arrived it was presented beautifully for us with all beds made which was great, we had a full family with us 4 adults and 4 kids and had loads of room. I was thankful for the 3 separate rest rooms. The location was my favorite part, with the garden giving you access to the beach which the kids loved. The views where absolutely stunning. I really look forward to our next holiday away here, we only stayed for a weekend next time we wish to stay longer to explore.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauenArt
Dornach, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hideaway. ”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 9 idyllic days here for my 50th birthday with my family. What an amazing find. The house is warm and welcoming and beautifully located right on the beach. The locals are fabulous and we enjoyed every minute. Unfortunately we were not so lucky with the weather!
Highly recommend it but take your own frying pan and don't expect too much from the upstairs shower or the cooker (other reviewers have noted the same so I am sure the owner is on it).
I am sure we will be back and next time with some sunshine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
We're so glad you had a lovely birthday in kintyre. What a lovely place to spend it. Thank you for your lovely comments. We have had new pots and frying pan put in the cottage. We have again checked the shower and oven but can't seem to see any fault. Hopefully this will no longer be an issue for future.

Thanks
Heather&Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PandCLond...
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A superbly located and characterful cottage adjacent to the sandy beach & sea, facing west towards the islands of Islay, Jura and Gigha. The owners website for The Old Post Office is full of photos and accurate descriptions. Whilst Muasdale Stores is no longer operating there's an excellent general store in Glenbarr just a few miles away. Spectacular sunsets, various walks on the Kintyre peninsula & boat trips to local islands. An immersion in the natural world. Hope to return. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and character
Liked least: Frying pan - suggest it needs replacing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Thank you for your comments, it is a great loss to the village that there is no longer a shop! But as you mention the one in the next village, Glenbarr has a great stock of items and a tea room!

Thanks
Heather & Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing weekend in Kintyre”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The "Old Post Office" in Muasdale was a perfect place to stay whilst spending time in Kintyre, from the moment myself, family and dog arrived there we just loved the house, garden/beach and the views. Deffinately going to rebook in 2016 and would recommend this lovely cottage to anyone looking for self catering accomodation within Kintyre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach and view and the shear relaxing feel of the area
Liked least: not having enough time
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
We are so happy you and your family, and dog all had a lovely time. Hope to see you visit again in the future.
Thanks
Heather & Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydfordd
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the last week of July. An ideal, quiet location with spectacular views and sunsets. We enjoyed the seal spotting opportunities too. So pleased to find a cottage so close to the beach. Some of our party even attempted some early morning swims!! Lots of little extras at this cottage with the use of the boat, lobster pot, trampoline, fishing equipment and fire pit by the beach. We even attempted to make our own crab cakes. The two main double bedrooms were lovely and the ground floor one was ideal for the grandparents. The upstairs shower and the cooker were a little disappointing but the Wii and XBox were a great bonus when the weather wasn't so good. The local shop was friendly and well-equipped and within easy walking distance, although the road tends to be rather fast and could be dangerous on foot. The local nursery and tea shop a short drive away was also a hidden gem too. With a large party of 10 we did struggle to all sit in the lounge and drying clothes was a challenge in the wet weather. We had a relaxing week which flew by and we were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. The lounge area has since had new seating and hopefully makes it more comfortable for larger groups. We are sorry that the upstairs shower and cooker were not up to speed for you, we have looked into both but cannot find any fault. Thanks for your review and hope to welcome at the cotrage in the future.
Heather & Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing