We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good b&b”
Review of The Old Rectory

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Ranked #16 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After visiting the tourist information office we were told they had no b & b's left under £90pppn. We found The Old Rectory on a wander round the town, no en-suite rooms but the bedrooms are large and comfy and we had no problems sharing the two bathrooms. The welcome was very warm and everything is clean and tidy and the breakfast was very good. At £58 for two for the night it was good value. Because this place is not STB rated the tourist office don't tell you about it. Don't be put off, it's worth the money. Although almost in the centre of town there was no noise in the night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank knmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

I enjoyed my stay in this B&B. Our room was large & quiet, breakfasts were very good, the B&B owners were very helpful and friendly, like all the people in Campbeltown that I met. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good location friendly owners we spent one night there would recommend it note good off street parking for motorcycles

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magpiepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I couldn't have been any happier with the B&B.

Our room was very spacious, nicely decorated, with a large bay window. Although the B&B is right in the town centre, I wasn't aware of any noise outside, so I slept very well. Breakfast in the morning was very good too.

Both the owners, the owners' son, and the lady who cooked and served us breakfast were incredibly friendly and genuine. The female owner took much time and effort to recommend a restaurant for me outside of Campbeltown, and I was very happy with her choice. The male owner made a point of chatting to all the guests at breakfast time.

Unlike other towns around the UK, there is ample street parking outside, and it's free! There is also a private car park behind the B&B.

I thought considering the quality of this B&B, the excellent service and it's location right in the centre of Campbeltown, it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

This is a very comfortable bed and breakfast establishment which offers excellent value for money. I think I was the only guest on the night I stayed, and I found the proprietor to be most helpful and friendly. He even apologised for the bad weather, but as it was the west of Scotland in December I wasn't exactly expecting a Mediterranean climate! The atmosphere overall in the house was pleasantly old-fashioned, and the breakfast in the morning was first class.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alfaetrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorfiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.1 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
19 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wellhouse
The Wellhouse
#17 of 19 in Campbeltown
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: The Old Rectory Argyll Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing