We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Inveraray Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inveraray Hostel
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for one night, very good value for money and we booked at short notice. It was in the youth hostel brochure and easy to find and book. It was not a busy night and we did not have to share a room. There are no sockets in the room, everyone was charging mobile phones in the hallway. We did not use the kitchen so cannot comment. We had a pleasant, quiet stay and it felt like staying in someone's house, rather than a youth hostel, which was nice.

Room Tip: Some bunkbeds have a double bed on the bottom and single bed on the top bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlynettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_cw, Public Relations Manager at Inveraray Hostel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Alistair

Many thanks for a great review! Glad you enjoyed it and we hope you'll stay again some time.

Thanks for giving us the...ahem...heads up on the pillow issue.

Regards

Inveraray Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We booked the hostel as a whole and found it met all our needs, the whole place was very clean I shared a bunk which was comfy. The car park was handy.
We took our own food so the kitchen facilities were very good for our group, there was a boiling water tank for tea etc, there seemed to be a little office with essential bits and bobs for sale but it was shut as we had the whole place.
The rooms were a mix of 2s and 4s, it was good value and the kitchen/ sitting area accommodated 16 people quite easily.
It was also nice and warm! Quite important in Scotland in November!

My friend dealt with the lady for keys I didn't even see her so can't comment on staff.

My only negative point is that the doors are quite thin and squeeky so I can understand if your staying with strangers hearing doors closing would be quite annoying.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank missmorven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It's well seen the previous review was written a year ago. Friendly staff? Yeah right. This was one of the most soul-less places I've ever stayed in - and unlike every other hostel I've been in, there was absolutely NOTHING like free tea, coffee, bread, margarine etc for breakfast in the morning. The only saving grace was a great shower, but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin_cw, Public Relations Manager at Inveraray Hostel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi there

Inveraray Hostel replaced the former youth hostel in winter 2013 and and the new management are working to address all of the issues you raise in your review. If you have any further suggestions, we'd be delighted if you got in touch with us and, if you're passing, gave us another go!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inveraray hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My friend and I have spent a few nights at the hostel. As hostels go in Scotland, this may not be the biggest,but it's probably the friendliest, most convenient and very well situated for trips around Argyll and beyond.The staff go out of their way to be helpful - to the extent of guarding our motorbikes while we went out for breakfast!! Seriously, I would recommend Inverary hostel to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing stay even though it is a 2 minute walk to several local pubs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FThomsonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
665 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 14 in Inveraray
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inveraray Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inveraray Hostel

Property: Inveraray Hostel
Address: Dalmally Road, Inveraray PA32 8XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 28-bed hostel in the historic town of Inveraray, on the western shore of Loch Fyne, is in a superb location for exploring Scotland’s Southern Highlands and Islands, and the perfect choice of accommodation for all independent holidaymakers who cherish an opportunity to socialise with other guests. The communal spaces and affable staff at Inveraray Hostel promote a convivial, cooperative atmosphere where travellers from many different backgrounds have a chance to meet, exchange ideas and stories, and relax in an informal environment. We offer budget-friendly, basic but comfortable accommodation in private rooms as well as shared dormitories, a well-equipped kitchen, dining area and wee lounge, and a lovely garden complete with picnic tables! Inveraray is less than an hour and a half’s drive from Glasgow airport and boasts a fine range of shops, pubs and eateries, as well as several tourist attractions well worth visiting, including a magnificent 18th century castle set in wooded grounds. There are nearby woodland walks where you might spot red squirrels and roe deer, and, not too far away, are mountains for the determined hill walker. Access points for Munros in the Arrochar Alps, Glencoe and the Trossachs can be easily reached by car. Inveraray Hostel is an ideal place to stay for solo travellers, couples, families and small groups; walkers, cyclists, bikers and backpackers, sight-seers, adventurers and escapists… A warm welcome to you all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inveraray Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inveraray Hostel Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing