We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and cheap!”
Review of Killean Farmhouse

Killean Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killean Farmhouse
Ranked #11 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2012

5 of us stayed in a three bedroom cottage. Killean is in an absolutely beautiful location, it's so peaceful. The gardens were very well cared for and just beyond there were forests and hills, often shrouded in mist - wonderful! A delicious cooked breakfast was served at the farmhouse every morning, or you could have a cereal option, or both.

The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The cottage was great for us as it included a lounge with sofas and TV, a dining room table and a fully equipped kitchen, so we could cook dinner.

Downsides? The cottage was very old in style, I imagine it could be cold in Winter and could probably do with renovation, but for the price we paid, we were delighted with what we got.

We all said how much we'd like to return one day - you can't get a better compliment than that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooselcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Killean Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We turned up to Inveraray having no-where to stay, having discovered that we couldn't get 2 rooms anywhere else, we thankfully found this one had availability to our liking. The only fault we could pick is that as a result of it being set away from Inveraray centre, it was harder to find, and up a long drive-way - incredibly difficult in darkness. However, the location was stunning, the rooms large, clean and nicely furnished. The owners were very friendly, and great with advising us on where to eat and visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank it_genius94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

In an amazing location of pure nature, untouched beauty we found this great farmhouse. Our hosts welcomed our party of 10 with heartwarming smile. The rooms were spotless clean and very unique. Each room had a spirit of its own and was decorated with taste and charm. The dining area was homey and lovely. The food was great and on time. The family dog, Walles, was a treat to be with! We recommend this place for everybody whether you are a couple or you are a family, this place will sweep you away by its beauty and welcoming serenity.

Room Tip: Each room was great on its own, i know we were a party of 10
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktosha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

After a short ride from the city center we reached the forest the hotel located inside the forest!
The first question I ask in all the hotels is there an internet connection and I was surprised that this hotel does have one (because of the calm and quiet place he located), not only i had wifi, he also was very fast.
The rooms were large and clean, the food was delicious and the hotel's dog is the cutest thing!

Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexZakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

just stayed here for one night, we had a car and were on a road trip, so didn't mind being out of town. very friendly. Nice clean room, decor in hallways bit old fashioned, but in our double room it was very tatseful. Breakfast was filling and tasty. they only take cash or cheques, but you can pay as you leave, so chance to get cash out of machine in the small town.

We ate at the original Loch fyne oyster bar, which was about 15/20 minute drive - was lovely

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

There was nothing really wrong with this B&B. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Our welcome was warm and we were given good advice when we asked about local things, sites, restaurants etc. There was no lounge but the breakfast room was cheery and pretty and a table was cleered for us to play cards. However we were way out of town. So it was a good stopover, but not recommended for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaSoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed in one of the cottages. The interior was so dated that it was almost a themed 1970s boutique hotel. It was like visiting your granny's house, right down to the avacado bathroom suite. The furnature, decor and fixtures are old but just not old enough. I know things are cyclic - futuristic, then modern, then fashionable, then dated, unfashionably dated, should be in a skip, interestingly old, retro, historic, antique, strongly desirable. Well this place is unfortunately placed in the 'should be in a skip' section, but honestly give it another few years and it is going to be retro and a valuable asset.

That apart it does have a few other drawbacks. We were there in September, a horribly cold and wet couple of days. The place felt cold and damp (although there was no smell of damp). The heating was simply not up to the job of keeping out the chill. We had a heater in our room that, well, at full blast would probably keep off a frost but was incapable of adding any warmth to a room. Also if you don't like spiders....don't leave the windows open. A cottage that sleeps six needs more than one toilet/ shower. Really, it does. When you get up, bursting for the loo and find your sixth in the queue it's not funny.

OK thats the negative bits over - on the plus side, it was very clean. The outrageous 70s sofas were comfy once you stopped giggling at the style. You get a fridge, and an odd ball collection of cutlery, cups and glasses. Even a dangerously old electric cooker half in the living area and half in the kitchen. The beds were again, very clean and mine was surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom is about as basic as you can get, but it was all clean and functional. And you can park your car at your front door.

If you are staying bed and breakfast you eat in the main house which is just 50 metres away. We found the breakfast pretty damed good. Usual cereals and juices and a big fry up if you want it. Mounds of toast too, and if you want any more they just keep it coming. No black pudding on the menu though :o( Staff were very friendly too, even though when we booked in the woman showing our group the cottages became narked that we were all arriving in dribs and drabs, but well, her honesty was appreciated.

In conclusion: well, this is a tough one. It was cheap, clean and value for money. I quite enjoyed my stay - with a bottle of wine down your neck the interiors become entertaining, but make no mistake it is far from luxurious. The people who run it are doing a pretty good job on a shoe string budget. This place could really be great with a bit of investment. The location is wonderful, if really difficult to get too. But if you are a seasoned traveller and put a travelodge at the bottom of your scale of expectations this place sadly is not for you. Then again, if you want accommodation the like of which you will never see again then book a stay now!

Incidentaly:

Some of our party ate at the George Hotel in the village and reported it pretty good. I ate at a pizza place next to a chip shop opposite. I found it really over priced (especially the beers, a small Perroni at £3.30!!!) and my lasagne was basically pasta boiled in an unpalatable orange gravy. It was disgusting, and I returned it to the kitchen. If you are going to eat here choose something that is cooked on the premises like a pizza and not something that comes in a frozen bag and microwaved.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cauldcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inveraray hotels
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,479 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
697 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newton Hall Guest House
Newton Hall Guest House
#2 of 14 in Inveraray
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maggie's B&B
Maggie's B&B
#6 of 14 in Inveraray
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 14 in Inveraray
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killean Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killean Farmhouse

Address: Inveraray PA32 8XT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Killean Farmhouse Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing