We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always go”
Review of Royal Burgh Cafe

Royal Burgh Cafe
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I always go”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I normally visit Inverary for a few days each year and I visit the cafe at least once during that time.It has always provided me with an enjoyable fish and chip experience.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalburghcafe, Owner at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Many thanks for your wonderful review. At the Royal Burgh Cafe, we strive to provide the very best quality of food and service. It is always rewarding to hear of returning visitors. Please make yourself known to us the next time you are in Inveraray.

I look forward to meeting you.

Kind Regards

Adriano Pia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    67
    25
    12
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellant food at reasonable price”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

strongly recommended ,the pizzas are lovely the service was great and there is a genuine italian influence in the restuarant ,one tip LATIN MUSIC would polish the place off we would defo go back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babsmaddog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalburghcafe, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review.

Due to a busy season this year, we apologise that it has taken us some time to reply to our reviews on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that your experience at our resturaunt was enjoyable and we hope this will prompt another visit from you in the future.

We take pride in preparing fresh, authentic food daily.

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

All we were looking for was a cup of tea and a wee cake, and they couldn't even pull that off. Our tea was cold and my scone was stale.

But it was the service that was really bad and prompted me to write this review. Not only did our order take a LOT longer than it should have to come (I mean come on, two teas and two cakes?) but the woman serving us was horrid. She was clearly stressed out, running back and forth because it was apparently "busy" (didn't look that busy to me and I work in a restaurant) but all her frantic running wasn't actually getting her anywhere! In my opinion the lay out of the cafe and their system does not work and if they changed it things would run a lot more smoothly. There seemed to be a lot of confusion mistakes being made.
But that doesn't let her have the right to be rude to her customers. I asked if I could change the jam she'd given me for my scone and you'd think the world was about to end. We couldn't stop laughing at her response because it truly was... so shocking!! Even when customers get on my nerves i'd never show it to them like that. It was really rude and she made the atmosphere of the place cold and unwelcoming.

We left as soon as we'd finished our tea - leaving most the scone behind - and will not be going back.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyRoseFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalburghcafe, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review.

Due to a busy season this year, we apologise that it has taken us some time to reply to our reviews on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to learn of your bad experience at our restaurant. Management will be having a talk with the staff regarding the issues that you have brought up in your review.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us a second chance.

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely italian food”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This restaurant is situated in the heart of the town of inveraray on the main street. It is surprisingly large inside with a long, varied menu of italian and more traditional dishes such as the classic british favourite of fish and chips. We had award-worthy pizzas with every topping you could wish for available, and a lovely bottle of wine. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was definitely a cut above your average italian restaurant. The restaurant also includes a take-away section and we had ice-creams to take away. They were raspberry sorbet and were devinet - not as watery as your usual sorbet and had a lovely rich creamy taste to them too. This restaurant is definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank bronte75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalburghcafe, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review.

Due to a busy season this year, we apologise that it has taken us some time to reply to our reviews on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that your experience at our restaurant was enjoyable and we hope this will prompt another visit from you in the future. All of our ice-creams are homemade on the premises, to a wide variety of tastes and our pizzas made with real Italian ingredients and baked in a traditional stone oven.

We take pride in preparing fresh, authentic food daily.

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Friendly”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Whilst on holiday in the West Coast of Scotland my partner and I dined at the Royal Burgh. Fantastic fresh food with very friendly service. Authentic menu and lovely setting. If you visit Inveraray, give it a go - I'm sure you won't be dissapointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsLass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalburghcafe, Manager at Royal Burgh Cafe, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Thank you very much for your review.

Due to a busy season this year, we apologise that it has taken us some time to reply to our reviews on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to hear that your experience at our resturaunt was enjoyable and we hope this will prompt another visit from you in the future.

We take pride in preparing fresh, authentic food daily.

Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Burgh Cafe also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Royal Burgh Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing