We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice hotel to spend a short break,rooms were a little dated but comfortable,food was very good and the staff were all helpful and friendly,especially the two Karens and Dan,would return in future.A good location for seeing the local area and directly opposite the loch,also a tour of the local fyne ales brewery was included ,which is quite interesting,well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayneger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    220
    167
    93
    59
See reviews for
98
366
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathaven
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Went up to Inverary for an overnight and spent the night in the Argyll Hotel which is such a lovely old building but in need of some tlc. A lick of paint in the halls and bedrooms would help and if they couldnt afford to buy some new bedroom furniture why not try some of the charity shops to cut down expense. Apart from no lift for older people or disabled that is the only criticism I have of it. We ate in the bar with 2 friends and had a super meal, well cooked, presented well and very filling. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of fruit juice, cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc and then the cooked breakfast which was very good. We even asked for extra toast and nothing was a bother to the staff to provide this for us. Would recommend but advise about the bedrooms. The residents lounge was nice and cosy too

Room Tip: One facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A lovely view from this hotel looking right onto the loch, Breakfast was very good and staff friendly, room was sufficient, clean and tidy though a little modernisation could be achieved, however for the cost of the room you can't expect the Ritz.
I would certainly use this hotel again on any future visits to Inverary.
Only drawback was the barmaid who must have been some relative of David Blain as she always did a disappearing act just when people appeared at the bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_C_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our opinions of this hotel were probably influenced by the special deal we had of £119 per couple for 2 nights, one with dinner plus 2 entry tickets to Fyne Ales Brewery. Whilst booking I checked to confirm it was for 2, not 1, night and Sabine on Reception very quickly came back to do so even though it was late in the evening. Helpful, friendy staff were a feature throughout our stay. One general drawback is the lack of lifts as the spiral stairway is both steep and narrow. Passing someone coming in the opposite direction can become like 'Strictly Come Dancing'. We had paid an extra £10 per night for a room with a view and it was indeed a good view. However, beware of opening a window (only 1 of the 2 could be opened) in rooms facing the road, as the sound of HGVs passing through Inveraray 24/7 can be considerable. The room was a reasonable size and the bed comfortable. There was no working TV controller for our set and our friends had a controller but only a purple colour on theirs. These deficits apart the room facilities were adequate. The dinner choice was somewhat limited and an attempt to change to the bar menu was met with the response that, for some reason, all 4 of us had to keep to the same menu. We chose the restaurant menu and ate in the lounge bar. The food was acceptable, although 3 of us had steaks (extra cost) of differing done-ness(?), ie blue, medium rare and medium, which all turned out much the same. To be fair, there was an offer to change these, but by then hunger had taken over. Overall, an enjoyable stay at a very reasonable price. Would pay the standard tariff? Probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Right from the beginning to the end of our stay at the Argyll Hotel we were made to feel welcome especially by Robbie on the front desk. Must add though that all the staff were friendly and attentive.

We were a little concerned by some of the comments we had read on here but need not have worried as had absolutely no complaints about our room. We were given a superior decent sized room with a four poster bed and loch view.

Admittedly, the hotel in some areas was a little tired looking but we were informed that refurbishment of the reception area, the stairs, the bedrooms and the public bar were due to commence shortly. Everywhere was clean and tidy which was all we could ask for. An excellent breakfast with quick service was served up each morning.

This hotel is in a prime location with fantastic views across the loch and would recommend it it to anyone looking for a peaceful break away from it all. The local folk in Inveraray were welcoming and a special mention goes out to Ian who entertained us with his guitar and banjo one evening. We will definitely stay there again. I'm sure after the refurbishment there will be five stars all round.

Room Tip: Room 211 had a four poster bed and was a decent size with a large bathroom (bath and shower over bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mL1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed overnight and had a very nice time. The staff were very friendly & helpful and although the decor was dated it didn't detract from the charm of the place. The food was 1st class and plenty of it. Bar prices were good. Scenery was beautiful! We went on the Fyne Ales brewery tour which was very interesting. Friendly staff and we got a complimentary bottle of ale and a glass which was a bonus. Would go back to both places and would recommend them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaswegian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

spent two nights there on a bed,breakfast evening meal deal. absolutely brilliant for what we paid. yes the rooms are a bit run down but they are clean and comfortable with lovely views over the loch. the food is excellent and cant be faltered and plenty of it too.had lunch in the bar and has an extensive menu (try the burger with bacon on...to die for)! the staff are helpful and there is a good local bar with football showing and a very good juke box.(although a bit expensive,only 3 plays for a £1)!
was informed that it is going to be up graded in the near future but i had no complaints what so ever and would definately return again at the nearest oppourtunity.
a word though..if you are booking book directly through the hotel,i first tried booking through 'other' sites and was quoted that the same holiday i got through the hotel would have cost me an extra £80 if i had booked with them.

Room Tip: obviousely a room overlooking the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Property: The Inveraray Inn
Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing