We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does The Job”
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does The Job”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned home after a 2 night stay in this hotel (groupon deal). On arrival it was fairly clear that the hotel was dated and in need of some sort of refurbishment. However, our room was spotlessly clean, if somewhat basic and we had a fantastic view to Loch Fyne. We used the restaurant on the first night and the food was absolutely fantastic. There are 2 bar areas, one public bar with pool table and jukbox and the other is a bit more of a lounge type. Each is well stocked with drinks. Breakfast is of the buffet variety, with plenty of choice to suit eveyone in my opinion, and, like the dinner food, of a very high quality. The staff throughout the hotel are very friendly and helpful. All in all an exceptionally good value for money break and we will be back again.

Room Tip: The stairs to the rooms are spiral and if on 2nd floor there is a good few to negotiate. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    230
    170
    93
    60
See reviews for
100
375
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Travelled with my partner for 2 nights in May, we were on the 1st floor (room 110) and had an excellent stay.
The room was dated with odd decor however it was ideal as a base. The room was large enough, double bed was comfy and there was plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe. The bathroom was large and had a really good shower with plenty hot water. We were fortunate to have a great view of the loch from the bedroom and bathroom windows. Other people seem to have had issues with cleanliness but our room and en suite were immaculate. One other bonus was that the towels provided were large ones (I often find hotel towels are tiny) and were very white. Only issue with the rooms was that the walls were very thin so we could hear talking in nearby rooms and the corridor outside.
The food was mostly good. There was plenty selection at breakfast - cereals, toast, pastries and fruit as well as a hot buffet with all the fried classics. The eggs tasted a bit rubbery but everything else was to a high standard and seemed fresh. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and while the selection wasn't great, we still found something we would like. You will not be disappointed if you order the mussels as a starter. They were delicious and plentiful. However the roast beef main was very dry despite the gravy and I couldn't finish it.
The staff were all lovely, reception staff especially - on our last day they let us leave our bags behind the desk while we went out for the day so we wouldn't be lumbered with them. Everyone we met was polite and professional and most of them had smiles on their faces.
Location is excellent with views over the loch and a bus stop right outside. The tourist information office is right next door and everything is in walking distance.
I would reccomend and return to stay, but not for an evening meal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the loch are beautiful. Try to get one on the top floor if you don't mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muppet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Argyll is fine as long as your expectations are not too high! We paid just over £100 for a family room which had a double bed, bunkbeds and en suite. The beds were comfy and there was plenty of space, TV, tea and coffee/biscuits etc and a lovely view out over the Loch. The decor is indeed in need of attention and does feel dated - our bathroom had a lot of peeling paint etc. There is no lift so you have to cart your luggage up quite a few flights of stairs which isn't ideal when you have 2 small kids and therefore the luggage mountain. Breakfast was nice, range of pastries and cereals etc and cooked options, and the staff are really friendly and lovely. Overall the hotel is fine, I always use it as a stop over if the George is full, but I wouldn't call it a luxury hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I went to the Argyll Hotel, with my husband and another couple, on the 10th May for one night using a Living Social deal. My room for two was quite small, but clean with an en suite which was again small but clean with plentiful towels and toiletries. We had a loch view, which we paid an extra £10 for, but was well worth it for the amazing view of the loch and surrounding hills. My friends had the room next door which was much bigger than ours, so ask for room 210!

A three course meal was part of our deal and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have had in years. The dining room is well situated with loch views and the tables are well spaced out. The menu we chose from was not huge but had something for each of us. My husband had a huge plate of mussels which he said were delicious, and the pate and tomato and mozerella salad starters were also great. Two of us had a huge portion of cod and two of us had the beef which was fall apart tender and tasted excellent. The desserts were all mouthwatering and to be honest if they hadn't been in the deal we probably wouldn't have had them as far too full....... sheer greed but irrisistable.

The staff were all really helpful, for example when we checked in we were even told there was entertainment in another hotel that night. When we queried what an item on the menu was, a sample was brought out for us to try.

All in all we had a great stay in the Argyll Hotel but they are letting themselves down with the décor. All rooms and public areas are very tired and the place would be much more inviting with a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for room 210, big corner room facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivkat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

To finish our trip round Scotland, we decided to stay at this " luxury bespoke hotel" . How very disappointed we were. The hotel is in great need of a lot of TLC. Staircases and hall ways need wallpaper and paintwork repair. Our room wash clean and had a wonderful view over the lake but both the wash basin and shower tray were badly chipped. The shower tray sealant was black with mould. On a positive note the staff were very helpful and the food was good. Would we stay there again, no thanks!

Room Tip: Try for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inveraray hotels

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the beginning of a round Scotland trip with my Mum. We were apprehensive after reading a couple of reviews but we were definitely happy with our stay.
Yes, it is a little run down but it is what it is. The room was a little musty smelling but we popped open a window and it was all good.
The staff when we arrived were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, the perfect way to start the day.
All in all, for the price, it was ideal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I bought this deal through Groupon to start celebrating a big birthday!! The price was good but even for the same price I would not return. The room was awful - badly in need of a face lift. Decor poor and very dated. The furniture was awful - very old, stained. The dust on the alarm clock was thick! The television was old and very small. I was very disappointed with the room. The bar and restaurant were fine but the choice of meals was very poor - 4 choices and unwilling to provide a burger in the restaurant. They wanted us to move to the bar for that and change the allocated amount we were given. I found this very unobliging considering we were purchasing nice wine etc. What was supposed to be a romantic week-end - turned into lets stay away as long as possible from this hotel. We ended up going to another hotel during the day for lunch/drinks/atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,427 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton Hall Guest House
Newton Hall Guest House
#2 of 14 in Inveraray
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Property: The Inveraray Inn
Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing