We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHORT BREAK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SHORT BREAK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Although we have visited and passed through Inveraray many times and have in doing so passed the Argyll Hotel, it looked very drab then and is in a similar condition just now. The interior also looks as if it could do with a bit off refurbishment and a coat of paint. Room was basic but clean, and had all the usual facilities were there and in working order. The food served was exceptional for the price paid for DBB which included entry to Inveraray Castle. The staff were helpful, friendly efficient while serving meals.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    214
    164
    93
    59
See reviews for
97
358
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Passed this hotel many times over the years and thought we would try an overnight on the way home from visiting another location.
The entrance to the hotel and reception looked shabby, and on the way to our room we noticed the paintwork and walls need attention. When we entered the room it was the same, the bed was clean and the bathroom not to bad but I could right my name on the dust on the unit holding the tv, as it was only an overnight we never said anything however we would not have stayed if our length of visit had been longer. The staff were very nice and breakfast was good. It is such a shame as it would be a lovely hotel if it had a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished - if any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inveraray hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel decor & rooms are really tired and need a good overhaul. Room 201 was a tiny double and looked out over the car park at the back. Clean enough though. Set dinner was very reasonable at £20 for 3 courses and helpings were huge (so couldn't manage a dessert!) My mushroom stroganoff was one of the best I'd ever tasted, but my husband wasn't impressed with the pork. Staff were very friendly & attentive, beyond the normal in much classier establishments. All in all, if you're not too fussy about the actual room, it is a good choice in Inveraray.

Room Tip: No lifts so bear in mind if they allocate you a room in the 200s. 201 is tiny with a poor view. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquagerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were initially disappointed in appearance of this lovelly old hotel. It desperatly needs a refurb!That said the Location was perfect with lovelly views over the loch. The room was clean and the staff lovelly. The food was exceptional for the price we paid for a Dinner, Bed and breakfast package that included free entry to the castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumbarton
Level Contributor
235 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Haven't stayed in any of the rooms but eat here on regular trips to Inveraray. Food fresh,tasty and reasonably priced. Quick service by friendly staff. Ladies toilets could do with an upgrade.overall a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinedumbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Was nearly put off booking this hotel by the vicious negative comments by some here. This is a 400 year old listed building originally built as a hotel so it cannot be changed in fundamental appearance. The rooms are however very clean and well appointed with a super shower. If you have a front room the views out of the window are spectacular. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the bar is well stocked and the food wholesome and reasonably priced. Breakfast is buffet help yourself style so apart from wide choice you get as much as you want. I will stay here again next time in the area.

Room Tip: It costs £10 extra for a front room with views over the loch, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VladimirWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place is absolutely dreadful and in my view should be avoided unless you're desperate! It certainly falls way short of what I understand the word 'bespoke' to mean. Indeed, had I not paid in advance for the room via booking.com, I'd have gone elsewhere.

Only from a distance does the hotel look appealing. Once up close, you can see the dilapidated state of the building which at the very least could do with a lick of paint. Rust marks near downpipes and overflows add to the downtrodden appearance.

Once inside, into the foyer and reception area it is no better. The area is poorly furnished and the décor reminiscent of the 1970's. Only the dining room / breakfast room [which I discovered the following morning] is worthy of some praise. If all the public areas were like this then I'm sure the ratings for this hotel would soar.

Now to the bedroom. I had booked a twin room and made a request of a loch view. Only on arrival did we discover that all the twin rooms and singles are on the side of the building so requesting a loch view was pointless. May be this was booking.com's fault but I would have thought that when such a request is made the hotel in question could have emailed back to say it wasn't possible and why. Anyway, the room itself was small, dark, poorly decorated and furnished [see photographs]. In fact, I would go so far as to say that those who are being detained at Her Majesty's Pleasure enjoy better accommodation!

I should also add that this hotel is definitely not suitable for the disabled or indeed anyone who finds stairs a problem. The stairs are spiral in nature and with just one handrail [which is loose in places] can be rather scary if carry luggage in the other hand. A lift would make all the difference!

On a positive note, the staff were very helpful and operate in difficult circumstances. It must be difficult to keep smiling and take the flack because the accommodation is so poor. I should also add that the breakfast was much better than I was expecting. There was plenty of choice and it was served with a smile.

So would I stay at the hotel again? Not in a million years whilst in it's current state; as the saying goes, "once bitten, twice shy"

Room Tip: I'm not at all sure they exist at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
12.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Property: The Inveraray Inn
Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing