We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfair reviews!”
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I normally only read reviews on trip advisor, never normally write one but I felt that the Argyll had unfair reviews based on what I had read previous to the two nights I spent there.

I was worried about what we were going to but we couldn't have been more surprised, yes the hotel is tired in places but the food is lovely, the staff are great and the public areas are really comfortable.

We had booked into 211 which was a four poster room - this was very clean and the room itself was huge with a large bathroom and good shower. We had a lovely view of the loch from our room too.

Breakfast was buffet style which had a good selection of continental items and hot items.

We had the 3 course dinner on our first night which was absolutely delicious with a good choice.

All in all this was a good hotel - its so central has great views therefore its a shame that some people have given it such bad reviews but then there is no pleasing some people. If you want /expect 4 /5 star standard then that's what you should be booking.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade and book into a front facing room - they are larger and the views are outstanding.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LisaK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for The Inveraray Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is a bit run down and would seem that it is only catering for coach parties. Although our room was clean it was small with a very disappointing outlook onto a piece of wasteland serving as a car park. The decor is incredibly dated and shabby especially in the less public areas. We had a reasonable evening meal although parts of it were missing from the description on the menu - we were unable to get a bottle of wine requested and they were also unable to provide a replacement. The bar is area is pleasant as were the staff. Breakfast was ok. I just hope the tourists from overseas do not leave Scotland with an impression of mediocre hotels and food.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the loch.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good location-near the city entrance,overlooking the Loch&the park outside.Very friendly staff, from the girl at the reception to the guys that served us the food& the beers. Good homemade food (we had the burger, the sweet chilli salmon and the stake pie -which was one of the best beef dishes I ate). The breakfast was OK, good coffee but oily food (we had to share a sausage both of us and we didn't touch the mushrooms). Nice restaurant&pub decor and nice atmosphere at the pub, where we watched a World cup match while watching other guys playing pool in the pub. The downside was the strong paint smell inside the room and the dried paint stuck the window so we had difficulties opening/closing it. Also, the bed was a bit small for us, but we are tall. It's a smell of old in the hotel and in the room the appliances were kinda old and didn't look safe to use the hair dryer. If you're not bothered too much by the smell and the rooms and main halls decor, it's a nice hotel..

Room Tip: Rooms with Loch view for a stunning morning view. Don't sleep with open windows as it can be noi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreeaNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Although we have visited and passed through Inveraray many times and have in doing so passed the Argyll Hotel, it looked very drab then and is in a similar condition just now. The interior also looks as if it could do with a bit off refurbishment and a coat of paint. Room was basic but clean, and had all the usual facilities were there and in working order. The food served was exceptional for the price paid for DBB which included entry to Inveraray Castle. The staff were helpful, friendly efficient while serving meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Passed this hotel many times over the years and thought we would try an overnight on the way home from visiting another location.
The entrance to the hotel and reception looked shabby, and on the way to our room we noticed the paintwork and walls need attention. When we entered the room it was the same, the bed was clean and the bathroom not to bad but I could right my name on the dust on the unit holding the tv, as it was only an overnight we never said anything however we would not have stayed if our length of visit had been longer. The staff were very nice and breakfast was good. It is such a shame as it would be a lovely hotel if it had a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has been refurbished - if any
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel decor & rooms are really tired and need a good overhaul. Room 201 was a tiny double and looked out over the car park at the back. Clean enough though. Set dinner was very reasonable at £20 for 3 courses and helpings were huge (so couldn't manage a dessert!) My mushroom stroganoff was one of the best I'd ever tasted, but my husband wasn't impressed with the pork. Staff were very friendly & attentive, beyond the normal in much classier establishments. All in all, if you're not too fussy about the actual room, it is a good choice in Inveraray.

Room Tip: No lifts so bear in mind if they allocate you a room in the 200s. 201 is tiny with a poor view. Room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquagerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were initially disappointed in appearance of this lovelly old hotel. It desperatly needs a refurb!That said the Location was perfect with lovelly views over the loch. The room was clean and the staff lovelly. The food was exceptional for the price we paid for a Dinner, Bed and breakfast package that included free entry to the castle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,477 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
434 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
378 reviews
12.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,180 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: £72 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing