We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel”
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel from the outside looks a bit dated, could do with a coat of paint. Inside the reception area very pleasant and the welcome was very friendly. Our room, a bit dated and small but clean and a comfy bed, the bathroom was clean with a fairly good shower. The bar and lounge area was nice with a good selection beers. We had a meal in the lounge good portions and very tasty. The buffet breakfast on both mornings was fresh with a good selection. All in all a nice hotel but a refurb. in the rooms would not go wrong.

Room Tip: try and book a loch view room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for The Inveraray Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Dingy, dirty, smoky, outdated hotel that's well worth avoiding. Also, the management leaves much to be desired.

We booked a room online and paid £80 in advance on our credit card. When we arrived to check in (at 3 pm), we were informed that the room had "water damage" and so was unavailable. We asked to see the room to judge for ourselves and were refused. We were also refused a refund. The hotel claimed they did not to need to reimburse us since they had found us another suitable hotel some 45 minutes away from Inverary. When we declined to accept this substitution, they still refused to reimburse us. We also learned that there was no water damage and that the hotel had overbooked, so they lied to us. In the end, we only got our money back by contesting the charges on our credit card.

In short, these guys are dishonest crooks who rely on location to lure in unsuspecting tourists. There are much better Bed & Breakfasts in town (where we stayed). Inverary is a delightful town and well worth visiting, just be sure to pick a place that will actually have the room you paid for when you show up.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Inverary is filled with plenty of wonderful bed & breakfasts, so there is n...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was very nice though old. The room was very cozy with not much room for 2 people and luggage but was comfortable and overlooked Loch Fyne. The reception staff was kind and helpful. We chose not to eat supper there but found the included breakfast to be very good and filling. We even were able to taste a wee bit of haggis!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomDebBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent one night in this hotel. The only problem we found were the lots of stairs even in corridors however it was nothing when compared to rates of other hotels in the area. The room was clean and tidy, bed very comfortable. Hotel is situated on the promenade and could easily go for a walk in the evening and is near to 2 mini markets.

Buffet English breakfast was very good in what it looked like a well kept old fashioned dining room, which was nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Arrived early afternoon and reception was very helpful. Our rooms were on the first floor up a turret stair. No Lift so be prepared to be exhausted if you have more floors to negotiate. Room was a little tired and the toilet had a mira electric shower that was very weak.The light above my bed did not work. The bar downstairs is very pleasant although prices are a little more than I thought. Had a bar meal which was very good and reasonably priced. Nice area to walk out of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Appearances can be very deceptive. This hotel has a fantastic location and outlook, and from the roadside looks fine. What a letdown inside. Sizewise, our "double" room was a glorified attic single room which was accessed by a steep staircase and warren of corridors going up and down different levels. Anyone with mobility difficulties would find this hotel challenging. Once we found the room, it had ripped wallpaper, and carpeting which had seen many better days. The heated towelrail in the bathroom was hanging off the wall, and there were big holes in the wall above the washbasin where there had once been a shelf. We also had to hunt for the hospitality tray which we found hidden away in a cupboard. There was also no guest information regarding emergency exits etc. Breakfast was no more than acceptable, and staff were few in number and not particularly attentive. We had to ask for a table to be set for us, but we had to source butter/marmalade from another table as it hadn't been provided. Also, no-one asked if we required more coffee/toast etc. Not good enough. We won't be back, and wouldn't recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked this hotel on a DBB package that included a tour of the local brewery on their own website for a price of £59.50 for 2 which i thought too good to be true , but it was ! The hotel is old but that adds to the general good feel of the place .It has a lovely big bar and the restaurant is ok .The meal was great as was the breakfast and the staff we very friendly .the hotel is located just a minutes walk from the beautiful castle and gardens and the main street is just around the corner .Could not fault this hotel in any way , enjoy .............

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ian186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,479 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
436 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
380 reviews
12.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,185 reviews
12.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing