We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cakes”

Brambles Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The first thing that you'll notice when you walk in will be the homely and inviting atmosphere, the second will be the very subtle aroma of beautiful local produce. Modern and traditional cuisine made using the best of local produce, served in a charming Scottish restaurant with a warming atmosphere. Informality is the order of the day at Brambles - we create a relaxed dining atmosphere to make all our patrons feel comfortable and at ease - combined with our friendly and efficient serving staff we know you will enjoy the dining experience as much as you will the food.
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We popped in here for a cuppa and cake. Lovely homemade cakes and good to see proper camomile flowers used for my tea. J said his coffee was good too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    194
    38
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“decent food and good cakes”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

good soup, although what arrived wasn't the soup of the day that we ordered from the board! Good chocolate cake - massive slab although quite sweet!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindsRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A shambles ar Brambles”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had noticed this quaint little cafe on an earlier visit to Inveraray and passing through again we decided to stop by for a quick lunch. The waiter said hello as we walked in, but by the time we got to the counter he had disappeared and we had to wait and then were told to take a seat. We ordered 2 soft drinks and a coffee, the coke came in a glass bottle which I thought was a nice touch, however when my partner ordered his coffee they asked if he would like milk in it and he said yes, however none came with it.
The staff didn’t seem to know what was happening and didn’t really seem to notice the customers as individuals for example we were twice more asked if we were being served despite having ordered about 10 minutes before hand, another couple in front of us had already finished their meal and were getting ready to leave when they were asked if they wanted to order anything! This is not a large place and with only 3 people working of which only 2 were actually taking orders with the other lady serving they really should have had a better grasp of what was going on.
The blonde lady that I took to be the owner/manager was also very rude to two elderly ladies and seemed to lack any kind of good customer service skills.
The waiting time wasn’t too long but when our food came out it was obviously frozen chips and whilst the salad garnish was nice and fresh the burgers had been burnt to within an inch of their life. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real tea and home style cakes”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Tea made with real tea leaves served in lovely pots and lovely homemade selection of cakes

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AussieSyd_Jen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wee place”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This place has a superb menu and great staff who really want to engage. It's (only just) moderately prices. Coffee anjd cakes for two at £10.00.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 25willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brambles Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Brambles Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing