We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location”
Review of Solway House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Solway House B & B
Ranked #10 of 14 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Marj was a lovely host and very welcoming. Room adequate,clean, ensuite good with excellent shower, bed not the best thin mattress which made for a not so comfortable night.Otherwise room met our needs,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We´ve been in Inveraray a couple of weeks ago, and found the most pleasant place for our stay at the Solway house. Rooms are spacious and clean, nice beds and bathrooms, tasty breakfast, cannot ask for more. Marj was a perfect host!
Thank you very much Marj!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muecke66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My Girlfriend & I stopped for 3 nights in June this 2012 , after booking well in advance to get in what was Jubilee week. Could not have been made more welcome after 300 mile trip up on the motorbike from Cumbria. Safe parking for the bike as well. Breakfast & views from the all aspects of the house to die for. Great host & lots of local advice – hence the walk to the George Pub each night! Got to be the best in Inverarary – so planning to return, as a base for more Adventure biking on Argylle’s secret coast

Update - Booked again May 2013, the countdowns now on !! - cant wait to return :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBAR800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a wonderful couple of days at Solway House in September. Warm, spacious and comfortable house in an elevated position with splendid views over Loch Fyne and beyond. Very quiet, but convenient for exploring the town. Well appointed room, spotlessly clean. Wonderful welcome from Marj, lots of good advice about the town and surounding area. She also cooked a splendid breakfast, and sent us off with the muffins, homebaked bread and spice loaf that which kept us going for at least two picnic lunches. We couldn't recommend it too highly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My Girlfriend & I stopped for 3 nights in June this year, after booking well in advance to get in what was Jubilee week. Could not have been made more welcome after 300 mile trip up on the motorbike from Cumbria.
Safe parking for the bike as well.
Breakfast & views from the all aspects of the house to die for. Great host & lots of local advice – hence the walk to the George Pub each night!
Got to be the best in Inverarary – so planning to return, as a base for more Adventure biking on Argylle’s secret coast

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Solway House at the end of October. Lovely modern house with big rooms. We had the room at the front of the house, the bed was huge and very comfortable, with a great view over Loch Fyne. The place was spotless and Marj was a fantastic hostess, she cooks a terrific Scottish breakfast as well. Would recommend this B & B to anyone travelling to or through Inverary. The house is an easy ten minute walk into town, either along the loch road or straight along the main avenue running through the town. This was our first time in Inverary and absolutely loved every minute of our weekend stay. There is also a great Indian restaurant in town and very good food in the George hotel. Thanks again Marj for a great stay.

Room Tip: The front room has a great view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim_m_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent 4 nights at Solway House in August and feel a little embarrassed that we haven't posted review until now, but credit where credit's due and this B&B needs it praises sung.
Marj is a fantastic hostess: keeping the place spotless; cooking delicious breakfasts and being constantly entertaining and very helpful. The bed was comfortable, the shower was powerful and we were a 5 minute walk from the highstreet so were not disturbed by traffic.
We were made to feel more like we were staying with a friend than being paying guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inveraray hotels
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,555 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
No 15 Bed & Breakfast Furnace
0.1 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 14 in Inveraray
467 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maggie's B&B
Maggie's B&B
#5 of 14 in Inveraray
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway House B & B

Address: The Avenue, Inveraray PA32 8YX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solway House is a recently completed Bed and Breakfast in Inveraray which beautifully combines contemporary design with a tradition feel. The accommodation comprises two bedrooms both with attractive views and en-suite shower rooms, a communal reading area between the two rooms and a striking open plan kitchen diner with access to a south facing decked area. Beauty treatments are also available on site to ensure your stay is that little bit more special and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway House B & B Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing