We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The First House
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taychreggan Hotel(Kilchrenan)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Inveraray)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardanaiseig Hotel(Kilchrenan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Awe Hotel(Loch Awe)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
2
9
2
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
9
2
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here overnight on route to Oban. Our room, on the ground floor, overlooking the garden was pleasantly decorated with a small, but functional bathroom; the shower was much better than we have experienced in some more expensive establishments.

The breakfast, taken at the adjacent George Hotel is excellent.

The room and breakfast was good value for money.

The only disadvantages for us were that there was no wi-fi in the room and parking can be difficult. Normally wi-fi is available in the bar in The George Hotel, but on our visit it was not functioning adequetly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stay here a couple of times for a week's holiday - Room 4 on both occasions - very large room with a very large comfy bed - Unfortunately on our 2nd visit it had been taken over by The George Hotel and the superb Fish Restaurant from our first visit (our reason for staying here) was closed for renovation. However; The rooms & service where still to a high standard and the food in the George was excellent value albeit mainly bar service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p3kdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Once we got to our room it was excellent but the check in, parking, and staff were extremely disappointing. Had to wonder around to figure out where to check in. There was no signage directing us to the George Hotel, the owners. Entrance way needs cleaning and repairs. Normally at b and bs you meet fellow travelers but as breakfast room was in the George Hotel did not met anyone as it was a little impersonal. To repeat though our bedroom was wonderful with a nice view.

Room Tip: Nothing to add. Note I accidentally selected pool and fitness center. There aren't any.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had a nice room in the The First House which is just next door to The George Hotel. Our evening meal in The George was very good, a great choice of fish dishes (my smoked hake was delicious) and some really good ales.
Breakfast was varied and to a high standard.
Service from the staff was excellent.
Good value for money and worth remembering for a stop over or longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandZ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews