We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery and interiors”
Review of Inveraray Castle

Inveraray Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.70*
and up
West Highland Lochs and Castles Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
US$53.76*
and up
West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
US$52.45*
and up
Oban, Glencoe and West Highland Castles Day Trip from Glasgow
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This stately castle was once home to the Dukes of Argyle.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and interiors”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great place for a weekend if you stay in Edinburgh or Glasgow. Beautiful views.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank superviajero3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    467
    137
    37
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than Balmoral!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I feel I am rating this as excellent because of my disappointment in the Queen's residence at Balmoral (which cost about 25 quid for two people to see!). Considering this is a private home, the duke and duchess open up at least 10 rooms of their house to tour (only a seldom-used back ballroom is open at Balmoral). The family was even in residence, as we came to find out. There are gorgeous dresses on display, aristocratic robes, and amazing china, silver, model ships, and a stunning collection of arms in the 7 story, 2-fireplace center armory. It tells the story of an ancient, yet modern, family who continue to work for the good of society. The gardens are lovely, if not extensive, and the views of this blue/green castle nestled among the surrounding mountains and waters are exquisite.

While visiting the gift shop, staffed by locals and offering quality products (like Johnstons of Elgin for about 1/2 the price we found in Edinburgh), we bumped into the Duchess herself, who was overseeing the running of the shop and tea room. While purchasing our "knee rug," we asked what, exactly, it was for. The lovely shopkeeper explained its purpose, and Her Grace chimed in that the Queen always has one in her car (if we weren't assured of our purchase before, we certainly were then). The shopkeeper introduced us and we had a pleasant chat - she was as lovely and down-to-earth as any of the hospitable, friendly Scots we had met so far. As New Yorkers, we're used to seeing celebrities, but it really was an honor to meet a member of the storied aristocracy :-)

While some complain about the prohibitive cost of the castle, we looked at it as certainly stimulating the local economy by offering jobs and services to those living in the area. I would imagine that it is the owners' hope to make the castle self-sustaining for future generations. It is a gorgeous building in beautiful countryside that is certainly worth a visit. And who knows - you may even meet a duchess!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Forster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive - another 'Big House"”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very expensive - the Duke of Argyll must be living in some style! Some displays of interest but old tat included. Not great for teenagers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a look”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Ornate castle rooms with unusual and interesting items. Nice cafe in the old kitchens (yummy cake!). Not a large garden for the public to walk round.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“A "modern" castle”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Nice place to visit but different from most castles as it's 18th/19th century.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inveraray Castle also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Dalmally, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inveraray Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing