We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit on a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inveraray Castle

Inveraray Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.87*
and up
West Highland Lochs and Castles Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This stately castle was once home to the Dukes of Argyle.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit on a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is one of the most beautifully kept castles we have visited, stunning and the staff were very welcoming and informative. If the rain hadn't been so persistent we would have explored more of the surroundings

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnjaandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Anja & Andy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and found all the staff to welcoming and knowledgeable about the Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    410
    123
    32
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Seat of the Campbell clan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Most of the interest in our visit due to my husband's ancestry with Campbells. Beautifully maintained castle and grounds, but not really exceptional without the family tie.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mariner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. It is always nice to welcome members of the Campbell Clan and we are pleased that for that reason it gave a bit more meaning to your tour of the Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Not much to see for the price. The armoury room was very good, and the shop had lots of nice gifts. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We stopped at the Café for lunch and my partner is now quite ill. Not a very good end to our holiday.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank freedom9859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit here to Inveraray Castle but pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed the Armoury Hall. We are also sorry to hear that your partner was ill but can't imagine that it was anything to do with what he/she had to eat in the Tearoom since we have not received any other complaints. I do hope that he/she made a swift recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was disappointed on my visit very expensive for 7 rooms in a place this size, although beautiful they are cashing in on Downton abbey success, also the jail tells you to keep receipt to get 20% discount but upon presentation of this you dont get discount on family ticket???? Total rip off

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Kerry

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit we always appreciate feedback of any kind. We are sorry that you didn't find the family ticket value for money but the 20% discount is only available on full price tickets whereas the family ticket is already discounted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, old fashioned and pretty dull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Been to several castles on this wet Scottish summer holiday and without fail there was always something for the kids to follow / do / engage with. Nothing at all at this castle. Left very much to our own devices to look round less than half the castle for the princely sum of £30. Even from an adult point of view wasn't that interesting - lots of photos of the current duke and his family. Reminded of stately home visits 30 odd years ago when I was a kid - stuck in a time warp.

Had visited the jail earlier in the day and whilst a bit strange was much better value for money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shas10London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Shas

We are sorry to hear that you did not find your visit to Inveraray Castle value for money but thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate feedback of any kind. Generally most of our visitors find something in the castle of interest. I can only assume where the children were concerned they did not for some reason receive the children's quiz card which most seem to enjoy, since they get a small prize at the end of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inveraray Castle also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Dalmally, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inveraray Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing