We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Inveraray Castle

Inveraray Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.17*
and up
West Highland Lochs and Castles Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
US$55.14*
and up
West Highland Lochs and Castles Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
US$53.79*
and up
Oban, Glencoe and West Highland Castles Day Trip from Glasgow
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This stately castle was once home to the Dukes of Argyle.
Reviewed 31 August 2014

An excellent period castle with charming helpful people to advise and provide information. Well worth the fee

2  Thank theTreveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are so pleased that you found your recent visit here to Inveraray Castle value you for money and that you had such an enjoyable experience. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 876 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

A fabulous castle in beautiful surroundings, you can pay £2 to park and walk up to the lookout tower for amazing views, quite a hike but well worth it - our 4 yr old managed it. This also allows you to use the loos and the tea and gift shops, however the tea shop was very expensive. Free quiz for the children was an added bonus, with a prize at the end, only a pencil, but he was happy.

1  Thank ChocaholicWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit here to Inveraray Castle and that you particularly enjoyed your walk up to Dun na Cuaiche where the views are quite spectacular. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your recent experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The grounds were spectacular the scenery breath taking ,the staff were a pleasure really helpful a real Must see and Do .
I missed seeing the duke & duchess by a whisker but they have made the place look and feel like Home :-) very happy visiter ...

1  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Christine

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review about your recent visit here to Inveraray Castle. We are so delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

On a day trip to Inveraray decided to visit the Castle. The admission price for a senior citizen was £9 The Castle is also one of the residential homes of the Duke of Argile so the amount of rooms available is limited. Lovely views. White stones in the grounds mark the site of the old Castle. Large collection of Guns and spears plus paintings of the past family members.

1  Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Keith

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit here to Inveraray Castle. We are pleased that you an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent location , stunning views of the loch. Interesting to look round but finished before you know it and staff not that knowledgeable about exhibits .The ten pound entrance fee seemed excessive for what you got as only about a third of the castle is available to view as it doubles as afamily home

Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray C, Manager at Inveraray Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Pat & Colin

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent visit to Inveraray Castle. We are always happy to receive feedback whether positive or negative. I was surprised to hear that you did not find our guides to be particularly knowledgable about the castle exhibits since we have received numerous compliments about how knowledgable and approachable they are. I am happy that you liked the location of the castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inveraray Castle also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Dalmally, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inveraray Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing