We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room a little disappointing.”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Came back here as we had had a fantastic meal in a previous year. This time we stayed and were a little disappointed with the room as the bathroom had a net curtain only so had to hang a bath towel up at the window to give us a little privacy!! Although considering the price the rest was value for money. But true to form, the meal we had in the bar restaurant, was excellent so was worth returning for!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Although we stayed at another hotel in Inveraray , we spent a couple of nights in The George for a meal and a few drinkies.
The food was excellent and the atmosphere really good.
Staff were very friendly and made us feel "at home".
The hotel simply oozes character and I would highly recommend a visit.
Be sure to sample some "off the top shelf "and get in the spirit of the place !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheKingisnumber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here on a "Sunday Snug" special offer - D, B&B. To get to our room we had to walk up and down several staircases and the room was quite dark - rather disappointing on arrival. However, the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in for a long time and dinner was wonderful, although unfortunately breakfast was not as good, but still acceptable. We enjoyed our evening meal so much that returned to eat at the George the next night from the B&B down the road (the George was full).

Room Tip: Ask to view rooms first - some are quite dark.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Attended the george hotel for 2 nights September weekend. We booked Room 34 in the first house at £155 dinner bed and breakfast. The room was average , jacuzzi bath panel was all broken and cracked, blind in bathhroom was covered in damp stains and during our stay we temporarily had water coming from the ceiling, although they did repair this quite quickly.
The bar area again was ok, but found when sitting at various tables they were needing a good clean.

The only thing i could praise was that the food was outstanding. Inverarary to my surprise was totally run down and there is very little to do, so we had an 80 mile round trip to Oban , which was really nice with lots to do.
I have stayed at many hotels around Scotland and for a lot less money and had better rooms and accomodation.

Will not be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacnymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Never stayed but had a great meal, Beautiful inside, it was like going back in time, had the chicken caesar baguette and chips, BLT baguette and chips followed by sticky toffee pud, all was delicious, the staff were very friendly and attentive, would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Birrell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have stayed at The George Hotel several times, and it retains its enormous, individual charm and its family-run nature. There is a good range of rooms, all of which are individually styled and decorated. The main building is old, so expect all the good things and be ready to live with the occasional low doorways and creaking floorboards that this brings. We stayed this time for two nights and were not disappointed. The George is an excellent all-round package.

The key winning factors are the bar area (unspoilt, a hive of activity and full of its original charm, plus a phenomenal whisky selection), the evening meals (well selected, well presented with good quality and value for money, served promptly by friendly staff) and the very individual nature of the rooms. Our food was wonderful, partly from the menu and partly from the daily specials board and it was served in generous portions. Staff and kitchen were ready to help us with special requests. The second night saw some live music, which was competent and not too intrusive.

Book in advance if you are anywhere near the tourist season, since The George always seems full, despite its independence from internet booking websites.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I recently had a night away here and was blown away - the rooms are spectacular, the bar and reception are lovely - the whole hotel has a majestic, but slightly mysterious feel to it. Our evening meal was lovely, the staff were so friendly. The bath was amazing - too long for me at 6ft4, which never happens, and the beds were luxurious. The highlight..... BREAKFAST!!! Blimey!!! And, dogs are allowed, making it the perfect getaway for us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pappyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
697 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
380 reviews
20.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing