We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for a bite to eat”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice place for a bite to eat”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just back from a visit to Inveraray and used the George both days.We really liked the public bar and found the staff friendly and a good place for a chat.There is a great selection of malt whiskey which I really enjoyed.We had a meal in the restaurant which was great,a huge pot of mussels cooked to perfection and staff were very nice.Would certainly return and give the hotel a try in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianfaethetoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    349
    104
    68
    42
See reviews for
177
709
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Like the previous reviewer, We stayed in Room 34. The room was WONDERFUL! It had the comfiest bed I have ever slept in, with great furnishings and views over the loch. Also had an open fire, which was nice and cozy.
The bath in the bathroom could do with updating due to cracks on the outside, but this did not effect it's use. The room and bathroom were immaculate.
The hotel is very friendly and well run (Plus it welcomes dogs).
We particularly like the bar area where locals, visitors and their dogs enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and an excellent selection of whisky's.
We had dinner at the hotel 2 out of 3 nights. The food was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient.
Inveraray is well located for touring the area, with many lovely drives and walks close by.
We can particularly recommend the Himalayan Gardens (National Trust) and the Archaeology Museum at Kilmartin. We walked across fields near by to see standing stones. There is always something interesting to see and do in Scotland! Next time we stay we hope to combine it with a visit to Iona. looking forward to next year already. Thank you very much to everyone at The George. Bev and John Cook (and Skye)

Room Tip: We loved room 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gambiabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Came back here as we had had a fantastic meal in a previous year. This time we stayed and were a little disappointed with the room as the bathroom had a net curtain only so had to hang a bath towel up at the window to give us a little privacy!! Although considering the price the rest was value for money. But true to form, the meal we had in the bar restaurant, was excellent so was worth returning for!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Although we stayed at another hotel in Inveraray , we spent a couple of nights in The George for a meal and a few drinkies.
The food was excellent and the atmosphere really good.
Staff were very friendly and made us feel "at home".
The hotel simply oozes character and I would highly recommend a visit.
Be sure to sample some "off the top shelf "and get in the spirit of the place !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheKingisnumber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here on a "Sunday Snug" special offer - D, B&B. To get to our room we had to walk up and down several staircases and the room was quite dark - rather disappointing on arrival. However, the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in for a long time and dinner was wonderful, although unfortunately breakfast was not as good, but still acceptable. We enjoyed our evening meal so much that returned to eat at the George the next night from the B&B down the road (the George was full).

Room Tip: Ask to view rooms first - some are quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Attended the george hotel for 2 nights September weekend. We booked Room 34 in the first house at £155 dinner bed and breakfast. The room was average , jacuzzi bath panel was all broken and cracked, blind in bathhroom was covered in damp stains and during our stay we temporarily had water coming from the ceiling, although they did repair this quite quickly.
The bar area again was ok, but found when sitting at various tables they were needing a good clean.

The only thing i could praise was that the food was outstanding. Inverarary to my surprise was totally run down and there is very little to do, so we had an 80 mile round trip to Oban , which was really nice with lots to do.
I have stayed at many hotels around Scotland and for a lot less money and had better rooms and accomodation.

Will not be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacnymph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Never stayed but had a great meal, Beautiful inside, it was like going back in time, had the chicken caesar baguette and chips, BLT baguette and chips followed by sticky toffee pud, all was delicious, the staff were very friendly and attentive, would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Birrell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
673 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
12.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing