We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful room”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Been here 4 times now and it's always fantastic. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent as always although they had run out of smoked salmon. Didnt matter though as everything on the menu looked good. I love the bar area. It's so cosy with the log fires, beams and old stone walls. Absolutely charming. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi and open fire. It was gorgeous, best room I've ever stayed in. Had to drag ourselves out the bath to go for dinner! All in all a lovely break, we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 5 was fabulous. Couldn't fault it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeneral3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    338
    98
    65
    41
See reviews for
171
687
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

A place I have eaten in on several occasions.

Never have I been disappointed in the food here, whether it be the fish and chips, the burgers or the bucket of mussels!!

Lovely roaring coal fire in the dining areas, perfect after a long day of driving and walking in the rain.

The homemade chicken pate was very tasty! For me a little under seasoned but none the less I couldn't fault it!!

Very friendly staff, I never caught the girl who served us name, I believe she may have been Australian but I cant be sure.

Keep up the good work!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phannan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for one night only and really enjoyed it. Lovely atmosphere in the bar and amazing food, the room was lovely but noisy as it was above the bar and the decor needs updating.

Unfortunately the room was too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a wonderful night with friends at The George. Gorgeous room, delicious food and friendly, helpful staff. Also enjoyed the live music and great atmosphere in the bar after dinner. Already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoasttours2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were recently staying in inveraray (not at The George), and having walked past The George decided to have an evening meal there.
The pub area is really very nice and cosy with lots of different wee bits and some open fires which makes the atmosphere great.
The menu is excellent with some staple favourites but also with some very good but non-typical pub grub, such as smoked hake, potted crab - in fact a much better selection of fish and sea food than many other establishments in the area
There is also a "specials" board with a great selection of dishes. There really is something to cater for everyone's taste. On the night we eat there, langoustines in garlic butter were on the specials board and 3 of the four of us decided to have these. They were served halved lengthways with garlic butter and lovely bread - absolutely delicious.
We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere so much than we ate there a second night during our 4 night stay in Inverary. The meal on the second evening was every bit as good as the first meal we had. Some of the specials were the same, but some had changed, and I had marinated grilled lamb chops, which were simply the best lamb chops I have had in decades.
Apart from the food, the beer was also very good, as was the wine selection (very reasonable prices).
the staff are worthy of a very positive mentionn as well, and we found then to be attentive, polite and friendly on both evenings.
I shall be planning to stay at The George next time I visit Inverary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel with coal fires, live music and comfortable beds. The food in the restaurant is out of this world and the hotel is worth a visit for this alone. All of the rooms are lovely but the Merchants room with its original features, double jacuzzi and king size bed is worthy of special mention. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff are welcoming. I have returned here many times and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang0X0X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. A charming old country style Inn with a fantastic restaurant (good solid traditional food but amazing quality), and a bar with a great atmosphere brought about by friendly bar staff and a mix of locals and tourists enjoying the live music. As for the rooms, we stayed in 'The Merchants' and this room was 5 star quality, loved the hot tub.
All in all, one of the best stays I have ever had and would definitely like to come back.

Room Tip: Website has pictures of every individual room to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandmagee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 14 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing