We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Stay”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pub Stay”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed one night and our room was in the 'First House' which is an historic building converted into small bedrooms which were OK for a night but no more. We ate at the hotel and the food was average. The breakfast was included in the tariff and provided various options. Secure car parking at the hotel was a big plus.

Room Tip: The First House room we stayed in was small but cosy. If you have trouble climbing stays find somewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    340
    101
    65
    42
See reviews for
172
695
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

On a rainy Sunday lunchtime we found this place as they were fine with kids and dogs and we're so glad we did. Gorgeous old bar with stone walls and open fires made for an amazing setting. We were not disappointed in any way with the food and service, as everything was spot on. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone within a 50 mile radius looking for lunch!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary, bank holiday weekend, booking the Sunday Snug, and what a treat it was! We arrived to a beautiful room(9) with 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath (in the room) and a bottle o fizz. There was plenty of space with a sofa, table and tv and everything you need, hair dryer, wardrobe space, hangers, tea/coffee facilities and even a vintage writing desk. The bed was v comfy and you get a partial view of Loch Fyne. We ate in the restaurant, food was excellent and reasonably priced, £50 of which was covered by the £155 for Snug reservation. Service was prompt and friendly. Staff on reception were lovely and helpful and everything was just dandy! Have recommended to everyone I know as it's a real gem. Inveraray itself could do with a lick o paint mind you :) Will def return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend. Really enjoyable food and great atmosphere. We had a special which was lamb. The fish also looked really good and a great size.They accept pets which is a bonus. Have lots of choice of beverages. Always busy for a reason.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

we Kiwis drove into town, unannounced, loved the look of The George, wandered in, took a room on the third floor - most comfortable - especially for the considerable age of the hotel. Bar was fabulous, food great & very good service. Too bad we could stay for only one night in March 2014.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a family meal in this delightful pub and were very impressed with everything - especially our waitress, who remembered the entire order of five meals, and the drinks too - no notepad required!! The food arrived quite quickly, and was excellent!! Fantastic value for money, and a good location too - just round the corner from Inverary Jail. Would definitely recommend the smoked hake - mmmmmmm!!! We'll be back soon for more.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the accommodation, just had a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Visited recently with friends to celebrate our anniversary and had a great night. Really lovely dinner in the restaurant followed by a brilliant night of live music in the pub. Rooms lovely too. Great mix of people and helpful staff. Will be back again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
665 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
357 reviews
12.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
12.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing