We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and husband booked The George Hotel in December for my husband's birthday. We have stayed at The George a few times but we have never stayed at The George Hotel at Christmas time before. It was magical with the Christmas lights and the gorgeous scenery. In the hotel there were a few Christmas parties and everyone was very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our over night stay and will be booking up again very soon.

Lesley & Colin

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    331
    96
    61
    41
See reviews for
167
670
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kippen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner and I booked in here for the night. The man at reception on our arrival was very welcoming and helpful & gave us directions to our room, however this is where it went down hill. Room small and grubby feeling, no ventilation in bathroom. We booked a table for 7pm that evening for dinner and on our arrival to the dining room the staff practically ignored us and we had to wait 10 minutes!! We were sat down and our order was taken. 40 minutes passed and still so sign of our food (starter of bread and dips) so I asked the waiter. It was clear from his reaction that they had forgot to put our order through and he rushed back with our starter. My partner then ordered a drink and on its arrival we realised it was the wrong order so had to send it back. Once finished another was ordered and once again the wrong drink came to the table!! Once we had finished our main we were asked if we wanted a sweet menu and we said yes. 10 minutes passed and still no sign of the menu... In the morning we went down for breakfast, which was average and then checked out. The woman on the reception desk was extremely rude and ignored us as she carried on a conversation with her friend. Overall great food but terribly poor service was shown from majority of staff. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KippenBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having tried in vain to find somewhere that is dog friendly in Inverarary to eat. I and my young
grandson and 2 beardie collies returned to the George hotel. I say returned, as when travelling up north I usually stop off there for a bit to eat. Service was first class and the dogs were made welcome with a bowl of water even before I had been served :-) Menu was extensive with plenty for vegetarians. Food served quickly even though place was busy, staff friendly and not put out at all with the number of dogs. As usual a good place to go.
As for the other eateries I tried, the no dogs signs were up on the doors. One owner couldn't even tell me why she had barred dogs, and she had 3 alsations of her own, she told me.
Come on Inverarary get out of the dark age. With the amount of dogs and owners walking about the street surely they shopuld be made more welcome. Not everybody wants to sit outside in this climate, the owners are quite prepared to take our money but not prepared to accomodate us inside premises. well behaved dogs and owners should be made more welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch on a very warm Thursday. Always plenty of room and a warm welcome from the staff. I have worked in hotels and the crew on duty actually seemed to be enjoying their work. The food was plentiful and tasty. Choice of soups and the bowl was a meal in itself. I had a gammon steak which was tender and tasty. Three meals and wine was less than forty quid. The dinner menu looked good. If you are in the area do yourself a favour. Visit the George.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank iain h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very disappointed with the booking service, we have been going to The George every New Year for the past three years and we had hoped to be going back again this year however we emailed to enquire about booking in February and followed this up with several phone calls, having finally experienced the courtesy of our phone call being answered today we were told that the rooms we normally stayed in were booked out and alternative rooms had been ridiculously inflated in price! Needless to say we will not be returning this year as our custom is clearly not wanted! Disgraceful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stopped off here on our way to Tarbert, perfect pit stop. Lovely little town and beautiful pub grub, would stop off if in the area again. Food well presented waitress informed us its fresh and local produce. Service excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewMair444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Firstly: booking two rooms, they demanded a £50 deposit per room which I thought a bit steep.
On arrival we found out that we had a room in sous-terrain of the "First House" - with directions from the reception "oh you just go round the back there". My wife ended up on the fire-escape. There was no offer of help with bags, or at least being shown to the room.
The room itself is small and dingy - poor lighting and poor ventilation in the the ensuite. The furniture may have been nice once, but is now tired and scuffed. There is no WiFi in the bedrooms, just a slow connection in the bar.
Comparing with our friends' rooms: there is a great variety in size and standard. The furniture in all is a bit tired. Rooms looking south can be noisy as the smokers sit outside and argue until the wee hours.
The pub/restaurant is quite a contrast: the staff really friendly and helpful - the rooms dark and cosy (think pub, not restaurant). There is a lot of choice (even two vegetarian dishes) - prices are higher than usual pub prices, but it is good value for money. Good beers and a great selection of malt whisky. We had a great evening.
The breakfast was good but not outstanding - the portion sizes varied a bit. Service was good and friendly.
Check out was a repeat of check in - very curt and not very friendly - for example no inquiry as to whether everything was alright, no wish for a pleasant onward journey, etc. It's a pity the reception staff don't have the high standards of the bar staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "First House" are not value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishExpatGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
20.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing