We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel with stunning views”
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
ayrshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super hotel with stunning views”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Stayed in the first house room 37 which was a bit on the small side but we new this before we booked.Room overlooked the loch with beautiful views.Very busy hotel at meal times but do not b put off as you don't have 2 wait long for a table.Staff are very friendly and efficient and have your order taken in no time. Food of a good standard and meals prepared in no time. Thank you 2 all staff who made our stay a most enjoyable one. We will b returning. To all you animal lovers the pets are made a fuss of 2 and are welcome in the bar area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    349
    104
    68
    42
See reviews for
177
709
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a 1 night stay at the George, staying on a Saturday.

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel has loads of old-world charm. For all it's quaintness however, note that the hotel is directly above a public bar. We were warned on booking that a band would be playing on the evening of our stay which was good for managing expectations. Closing time was very noisy as people moved out on to the street so beware if you're a light sleeper (but for a mid-week stay noise would probably not be an issue).

Food was ok - decent pub grub standards but probably below-average for vegetarians. There are a few vegetarian options but if you want a side of fries then that's a no-go as everything is cooked in animal lard...that reduces your side options to salad leaves or vegetables (which you'll probably already have on your plate), or there's also garlic bread but not much else in terms of tasty carbs or more interesting options. Service in the restaurant is friendly. My "no haggis but everything else please" request in respect of my Scottish breakfast was confused for "no haggis, no black pudding, no beans, and enough bacon to feed 3 or 4 hungry people instead please" - not a big deal but I think the restaurant is fairly busy with the floor service under pressure and it shows.

The hotel reception could do better by offering assistance on check in whether that's offering to show people to their room or with luggage or offering up basic recommendations of things to do nearby - none of this is essential but it would create a more welcoming vibe.

Overall the hotel was nice but it lacks the attention to detail in terms of food and hospitality that would make me want to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the George for one night in room 9 , it was really nice inside and the room was lovely & big.
The best bit though was the fab jacuzzi in the room .
The meal was also really nice in the hotel , the bar was great to.
Helpful friendly staff also.
Wish I could do 4.5 , would loose half as there was no free wifi and the room could do with a tiny bit of TLC , not anything that put us off staying , it was a really really nice experience staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely, bed was the biggest and most comfortable we have slept in. Excellent food, service and friendly staff. The bar is very atmospheric. Loved it alk and definitely stopping again.
Inveraray is a lovely small town on the banks of the loch.
The george hotel is only 10 to 15 mins walk from the castle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we recently stayed at the george and we found the hotel too be outstanding, we stayed in the first house overlooking the loch very romantic!!!!! the jacuzzi bath was wonderfull and the room was beautifull. we had dinner and both the food and the service was ecxellant. will be back in the future
staff were very attentive well done.

Room Tip: stay in the first house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in room 5. Room was huge and very comfortable especially the jacuzzi bath!!! Diner here was very good in a relaxed atmosphere. Loved the beer garden as well. Loads of different drinks to try. Breakfast was nice plenty to choose from. Hotel staff very polite and helpful. Inverary very peaceful with great scenery. Had a nice relaxing stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I remembered this hotel from a previous visit many years ago as being a rather dark, tartan, very old-fashioned Scottish place. Well it still is really, although recent decoration has lightened it up a bit. The rooms have really interestingly quirky furniture and knick-knacks, eg our room had a bird cage hanging up in it (no bird, fortunately!). It was a lovely large and comfortable room overlooking the main street, which was a bit noisy as it was very hot while we were there and we needed the windows open. There was plenty of room to unpack all our things and a good bathroom with everything you needed.

It was rather annoying that, in such a large room with so much space, there wasn't a dressing table at all, never mind with a seat, socket, mirror and light as you would get in most modern hotels, or working Wi-Fi or radio via the TV that worked in the evenings as well as in the mornings! Even allowing for the quirkiness of things and places Scottish, is this too much to ask?

All the staff were really helpful and friendly and we had a couple of great meals here. There is plenty of fish, and nice desserts, which I don't usually eat but couldn't resist here. The bar and dining room were pretty full and popular the weekend we were there but the staff coped really well and the food service was excellent, well-presented and tasty, as were the breakfasts.

On our last night, when we were eating elsewhere, we were disappointed to find that we were not able to sit at a table in the bar to have a drink before going out. It seems that the whole bar and dining area is reserved for those eating, even when it is so early that hardly any tables are taken. We were eventually told that we could sit there till 7.30, at which time we were asked to vacate the table, although there were still loads of tables free and no one was waiting for ours. It seemed strange all round, but particularly for hotel residents not to be able to have a comfortable drink. We could have stood at the bar, but instead we left. Shame.

Inveraray is a lovely place and well worth a visit. The George is a nice hotel and we would recommend it, although we do currently feel tempted to try one of the other hotels next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
673 reviews
8.6 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
12.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing