We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I have not stayed at the George Hotel but I have eaten there several times. The food is excellent with healthy sized portions . The staff are very friendly, polite and welcoming. I would heartily recommend stopping for a meal if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    331
    96
    61
    41
See reviews for
167
670
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is the second time staying here and it is truly superb, you pay for what you get as they say. Its not cheap but if take advantage of the mid week special or Sunday snug deal it really is fantastic. In saying that go for the bigger rooms with Jacuzzi etc. Rooms are superb we had room 5. Its the old country pub look with opulent rooms and breakfast can even be served in your room for free up to 10am, This is a 10/10 place and I will be back for another romantic break asap - Thank you to all - hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Choose the from the Master rooms up the deluxe masters are fab - you can view them online at the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzaaaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My partner and I went on a road trip around Scotland in April 2014 and we stayed here for one night whilst visiting Inveraray.

Parking was at the rear of the hotel, down a little alleyway and there was enough room for quite a few cars. The lady who greeted us on reception was very friendly and welcoming. The double room we stayed in was fantastic and couldn't find anything wrong with it. The place was spotless, the beds were comfy, the décor was lovely and the view was overlooking the beautiful main street that runs through Inveraray. And just to top it off, the room price was very reasonable. Basically, it was everything that you'd want from a hotel room.

We never ate any meals in the hotel so I am unable to comment on this, mainly down to the fact that the prices did seem pretty high for us, although if the food is anything like the hotel itself then it will be excellent.

To summarise; a lovely, quaint and big hotel in the centre of Inveraray with beautiful rooms and lovely staff who are only too happy to help. We will definitely stay here again should we ever revisit the town of Inveraray.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Found this place so totally commercial, the food was at best very average and this is the only compliment I can give. Very dour staff, as soon as you had eaten, you had to pay up and move away from table as they had waiting customers. I can give this place no recommendations and somewhere that I will avoid in the future

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank celtic54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Stayed in the first house room 37 which was a bit on the small side but we new this before we booked.Room overlooked the loch with beautiful views.Very busy hotel at meal times but do not b put off as you don't have 2 wait long for a table.Staff are very friendly and efficient and have your order taken in no time. Food of a good standard and meals prepared in no time. Thank you 2 all staff who made our stay a most enjoyable one. We will b returning. To all you animal lovers the pets are made a fuss of 2 and are welcome in the bar area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a 1 night stay at the George, staying on a Saturday.

The room was spacious and clean, and the hotel has loads of old-world charm. For all it's quaintness however, note that the hotel is directly above a public bar. We were warned on booking that a band would be playing on the evening of our stay which was good for managing expectations. Closing time was very noisy as people moved out on to the street so beware if you're a light sleeper (but for a mid-week stay noise would probably not be an issue).

Food was ok - decent pub grub standards but probably below-average for vegetarians. There are a few vegetarian options but if you want a side of fries then that's a no-go as everything is cooked in animal lard...that reduces your side options to salad leaves or vegetables (which you'll probably already have on your plate), or there's also garlic bread but not much else in terms of tasty carbs or more interesting options. Service in the restaurant is friendly. My "no haggis but everything else please" request in respect of my Scottish breakfast was confused for "no haggis, no black pudding, no beans, and enough bacon to feed 3 or 4 hungry people instead please" - not a big deal but I think the restaurant is fairly busy with the floor service under pressure and it shows.

The hotel reception could do better by offering assistance on check in whether that's offering to show people to their room or with luggage or offering up basic recommendations of things to do nearby - none of this is essential but it would create a more welcoming vibe.

Overall the hotel was nice but it lacks the attention to detail in terms of food and hospitality that would make me want to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the George for one night in room 9 , it was really nice inside and the room was lovely & big.
The best bit though was the fab jacuzzi in the room .
The meal was also really nice in the hotel , the bar was great to.
Helpful friendly staff also.
Wish I could do 4.5 , would loose half as there was no free wifi and the room could do with a tiny bit of TLC , not anything that put us off staying , it was a really really nice experience staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gazfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the Clark family since 1860. Generation seven now resides in the hotel. The present owner, Donald Clark, has carefully and sensitively restored and enhanced the bedrooms, restaurants and bars to create a unique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Hotel Inveraray
The George Hotel Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing