We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£173
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£172
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£174
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,970)
Filter reviews
1,970 results
Traveller rating
1,097
472
168
140
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,097
472
168
140
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath live music great atmosphere master room fish and chips fairy lights sunday snug deal open fire the main hotel beer garden lovely meal my partner scallops haggis steak bar area cooked to perfection
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,970 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2023 via mobile

First class stay at this character full old hotel. Rooms were spacious, luxurious and very well equipped. Our log fire and jacuzzi bath were most appreciated. Food was superb and nice to see some real ales at the bar. One of us is coeliac but there was a GF menu and we had helpful advice from the waiters. Lastly, we felt every member of the staff went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and ensure we enjoyed our stay. Thanks guys, we’ll be back.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colinmO4035DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2023

Hi Colin,
So happy to hear you had such a lovely stay! I'm glad we were able to cater to your dietary requirements.
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and service - I will make sure they are passed on to the team!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regrds
Gillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023

Stopped in for dinner as we usually do on our way home from Glasgow to oban.
Food was very average, I ordered the Mediterranean panini it came as it say on the menu vegetables and pesto, that was it. No mozzarella which just made the panini greasy, it was dripping with oil.
Husbands was the same he ordered the cibatta,
No one asked if everything was OK, wheres the customer service gone...
Wish we had just went to the chippy! £45 for something my son could have made better..

Menu boring, and i miss the goats cheese , sort it out folks..

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank NIK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The George Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2023

Hi Nik B,
It’s a shame to hear that you find our new menu boring (though we do still have a goats cheese salad dish on our menu)
The panini you ordered was served exactly as described on the menu. We did previously have a similar panini with med veg and mozzarella, however we opted to remove the cheese to offer this as a vegan option. If you had requested some mozzarella, I’m sure the kitchen would have been more than happy to oblige!
I appreciate you say no-one checked back on you, but I would hope if the food was as bad as you say you would have flagged a member of staff and let them know.
It sounds like we have been a regular stop off for you – I hope your many positive experiences have outweighed this negative one.
Kind regards
Claudio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2023

My husband and I have always enjoyed the food in The George however it had been a while since we had eaten there. We both ordered medium steaks which were served with fries, a small green salad and a little pot of sauce, costing £34.50 each. Both steaks were inedible as they were so overdone and we had to send them back. They replaced the steaks which were, this time, very rare however we ate them. We also noticed that another diner sent their steak back that night. We have heard feedback from many frequent diners that the food has gone downhill recently as they have had a change in chef and there isn’t the same choice from the menu - I would agree with that! The George was always reknown for its steak pie however this is now only available at lunchtime. Personally I would avoid and choose to eat elsewhere.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KBM2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The George Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2023

Hi Karen,
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to the George.
We are currently updating our menus for the season – something which we do at least twice a year regardless of whether we have a new chef or not.
Our famous steak pie has always been on our lunch menu, which finishes at 5pm (previously 6pm) However, we are always happy to take requests – if you’d like to have a steak pie in the evening you just have to let us know and we can ask the chef to keep one for you.
You say you have enjoyed all of your previous visits, so I’m sorry to hear you will choose to avoid us in future.
Kind regards
Claudio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Popped in today 9th, after 3, family, they had fish and chips all round, really enjoy it, St Mungo Pint was Lovely, great place and very cosey inside, and will return again, Small delay on the Sons meal, but was quickly Sorted. Will return again

Room tip: Lovely seating beside the Fire
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ceecee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2023

Hi ceecee1231,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!
Kind regards
The George Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2023

I have never felt so unwelcome. My wife took our drinks next to the fireplace on a cold day, as did the lady from the coach party with her cup of tea. We gathered around the fire to be told we could only sit there if we were eating. So, they herded to a freezing room where we had our drinks. Not until another party came in did they light our fire.
Sadly it was left like that. We actually live here and my wife was telling her friend of what happened but unknown to her in earshot of the manager. OMG, never been so intimated like that in my life. Even other shopping customers were disgusted by his manner. Have a nice meal if you can but take your wooiles.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meander50473815461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The George Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

Apologies to anyone reading this response – we are a community driven business, but we cannot tolerate malicious falsehoods being spread.

Hi Jackie,

Thank you for your lovely words. As we discussed (when you verbally attacked me in the shop) we do have allocated areas for both dining guests and drinking guests. All of our fires are constantly lit – it does feel like you are turning this issue into a personal attack on our business. All of our guests over the last 35 years have always enjoyed the pleasure of our roaring fires and cosy atmosphere in our beautiful historic building.

I do owe you a massive apology – for not making it clear on our encounter that yourself and your husband are not welcome in the George as you have been untruthful in your words, both online and in person.

I do hope you find a nice venue you can enjoy and call your local.

Kind Regards

Claudio

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews