We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never open”

Inverary Maritime Centre
Ranked #16 of 18 things to do in Inveraray
Attraction details
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“never open”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

on my numerous trips to Inveraray. I have yet to see this attraction open. always fenced off. waste of time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank o_Hiho9_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    17
    7
    5
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“interesting little museum”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is an interesting little museum but sadly lacks the attention it deserves. The information provided is excellent and is worth the visit. However the vessel itself is in need of some care and attention, more cold be done to improve this little time piece!!
Inveraray itself is a beautifully peaceful and picturesque little town steeped in historic artefacts ...this is must visit place!! ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Left to rot”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Sorry to say this attraction is dead.
During my working life I have had the pleasure of staying in this town many times,there have also been visits whilst I holidayed. Even with the loss of the maritime centre which was never up to much.this town is definitely worth a visit there is much to see and do. Please spend a day in the town and surrounding area Good food to be had in many of its establishments.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

It's very sad to see maritime history in this state. As at my trip in October 2012 this museum was closed and the two vessels appear dangerously neglected. I would have liked to have seen the museum flourishing, as TA reviews from several years ago partly inspired me to make the trip through Inveraray.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NickMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best things in little packages”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A brilliant little museum with lots of photos, exhibits and interesting things to look at, it packs a whole lot into a small place. I would go again to look at what I missed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inverary Maritime Centre also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inverary Maritime Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing