We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish & chips”

Mr Pia's Fish & Chip
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kilmun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fish & chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Fish cooked fresh and very tasty, this chip shop is on the Main Street in Inveraray and they also have a restaurant attached to the chip shop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    43
    25
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looking for a fish supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pop into this chippy many times and never had a bad fish supper yet. The fish is one of the best, chips really good. If you're in the area please try the for a fish supper

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always good, frequently excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Not being the biggest of internet users I was unaware that there were comments on Tripadvisor about Mr Pia's fish and chip shop in Inveraray. While most are complimentary some of them astonish me. I have long believed this establishment to be one of the best in the west of Scotland. Obviously I haven't tried them all but over a lifetime I've sampled many and this one is always good and frequently excellent. We travel through Inverarary regularly and over four decades have never been disappointed. Admittedly we only ever buy fish suppers so I can't comment on haggis etc. I'm very surprised by some of the comments. I have no connection with the owners, I don't even know their names, but they are always friendly and courteous and other than one shop in Burnside (Rutherglen) and one in Troon we wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fish but chips should not of been given to humans”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited chippy a bought fish that was really good but the chips were really bad and I am sure the person serving them could of seen that. It is also very expensive. Also when I tried to speak to the man who appeared to be the owner about the different types of fish on offer he was quite rude and off hand saying "they are all advertised on the board above"in an abrupt manner and they charge top prices for everything even the sauce.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best chips ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I admit I only had the chips and at £1.80 there certainly not the cheapest but I've got to say they were fantastic definitely a case of you get what you pay for -il be back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Pia's Fish & Chip also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Mr Pia's Fish & Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing