We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“goodbye to all our lovely guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Ranked #11 of 16 Inveraray B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“goodbye to all our lovely guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

many thanks to trip advisor for showing all our lovely responses over the last few years and many more thanks to those who appreciated what we did in this lovely house - we have closed our doors to the b&b market and wish all our wonderful guests many happy holidays in some of the other wonderful guest houses in inveraray should they choose to come back to such a wonderful, welcoming town.

Room Tip: all the ratings are only for our memories as we own the property but no longer run as a B&B - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
30
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Badly signposted car parking and very run down garden was a worry after a long drive. The room was clean but freezing cold - after 3 complaints they finally got a plumber out to fix the radiator. Bizarre black furniture so like sleeping in a morgue with an uncomfortable bed - no toiletries in the en suite bathroom which at £90 was very annoying. Mediocre breakfast. Only charged us £75 but even that was too much for the place. The person who used to run it, Ruth has left so assume previous reviews were written when she was in charfe.Never again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lookforquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birregurra, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed at The Old Rectory during a recent visit to Inveraray. Ruth and Cathie were so very welcoming and couldn't possibly have made my stay any better. The foyer and staircase as you walk in the front door are so charming. I stayed in a twin room on the first floor as I was travelling alone. It was the biggest twin room I've ever stayed in. The in-room facilities were great. Tea & coffee, kettle, biscuits, free wifi, and a lovely bathroom which was cleverly incorporated into the existing wardrobe (it was explained to me that because of the Grade 2 listing of the property, the wardrobe could not be removed. There was also other wardrobe space for hanging clothes and plenty of drawer space). The shower was fantastic and for an old building the water pressure was fantastic. Ruth and Cathie gave me a tour of all the other rooms - one of which has a massive spa bath in the middle of the room (definitely staying in there next time for sure!!) and on the top floor there is a quaint little room with an inscription etched on the window. The Old Rectory is situated only about a 7 minute walk from town centre, so it's lovely and close but still quiet if you need a sleep-in. The views across Loch Fyne are spectacular (especially when there is snow about) and looking back towards town you can see Inveraray Jail. The dining room for breakfast is beautifully decorated (breakfast is lovely too) and there is a nice bright conservatory located off the dining room. I would not hesitate to reccommend this B&B, and will certainly stay there on my next trip to Scotland. Thanks to the girls at The Old Rectory. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and very well priced, but choose one overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKylie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Apparently this B&B was being managed by someone new and this had changed recently before our stay. Although the "no vacancy" sign was put up when we arrived we were the only two couples and the rest of the place was empty for our two night stay, so the place was like a ghost town.

The women managing the place was more often then not at her other job with a note saying to call her mobile if anything was needed. Our rooms were not made up during the day. The beds were lumpy.

The breakfast was quite good, showers were excellent, free WiFi was a bonus and the close proximity to the town center were pluses but I cannot help but think there were many better places to stay, and closer.

Inveraray was beautiful but we'll look for different accommodation if we return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hostess of the Old Rectory took us in when we had nowhere else to turn and gave us the warmest welcome. It really is very well run BnB that me and my friends definitely will revisit if we ever have the chance!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tentgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I wanted a short break and we definately picked the right spot. This little b & b 's accommodation could easily put some small hotels to shame. The room was large, airy with a real sense of the past, however the decor was modern and it all worked really well. The en suite was very nicely kitted out and the shower was amazing. Beware of the breakfast though - full English with all the trimmings filled me up till our evening meal. The location was great - Inveraray was a lovely little place. We visited the jail which was interesting but to be fair most of the time we were walking off breakfast. Would highly recommend this to anyone. A big thanks to Ruth as she was very helpful and pleasant and was responsible for the hearty brekky!! Would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank og28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Here for two nights on the 21/07/12, had a great stay. Clean modern rooms. Very friendly service. Nice (big) breakfast. Hotel is very handy for the town, about 3 mins walk away.

If you are planning a trip around this area this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShArT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#1 of 16 in Inveraray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
6.7 mi away
No 15 Bed & Breakfast Furnace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Newton, Inveraray PA32 8UH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Inveraray, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing