We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out.”
Review of Inveraray Jail

Inveraray Jail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.25*
and up
Inveraray Jail Entrance Ticket
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step back almost two centuries and discover the stories of the real men, women and children who were tried and served their sentences in this prison. Visit the Courtroom; explore the Cells in the Old and New Prisons; try out the wooden beds and hammocks; sample the punishments; experience the Whipping Table; take your turn at the Crank Wheel. Meet the Warder and Prisoners and get locked up in the Airing Yards. Listen to dramatic true tales from the characters in the Jail’s past brought to life with our FREE interactive audio guides. Available in six languages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a brilliant day. Very authentic. You can interact with exibits, take part in a trial etc. Real good fun day out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray78dtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    395
    81
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good day out.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Enjoyed our tour of the jail and reading all about how they were run and who was convicted and imprisoned. Found it very interesting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun day out”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very interesting day out at the Inverary Jail. The actors really do a great job!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neesey239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family day out”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my husband took my young son to the Jail. Some parts of the jail have interactive characters. My son found this lots of fun. There are photo opportunities in places around the jail. We spent two hours there easily. There is a small gift shop too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traceyvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The jail has been kept in it's origional state. From the cells with photo's of past inmates and discriptions of their crimes to the outside recreation space.
We had no children with us, but some where sampeling the experience at the same time as we were and appeared to be having a great time.
Staff are in costume, eg jailer, inmate etc. They were interesting to talk to and kept in character. The court house was quite earie, with judge, the accused,lawyers etc, and a tape in English and Galic. going through the motions of a trial. We kept expecting one of the dummies to move,
I asked about any ghostly experiences, and it seems to be haunted, with special nights held quite regularly.
If you are on a coach tour , it is well worth mentioning it on arrival, as we got a good discount. They need your tour company and drivers name. If not call into the tourist information, on the harbour front, they have fliers with 20% off.
A disadvantage for some would be the well worn stone steps throughout the building. No food hall or toilets that we noticed. As it is the origional building no lift either.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LASEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inveraray Jail also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inveraray Jail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing