We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Really Great Attraction!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inveraray Jail

Inveraray Jail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$593.30*
and up
Private Minibus Tour to the Highlands and West Coast from Glasgow
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step back almost two centuries and discover the stories of the real people - men, women and children who were tried and served their sentences in this prison. Take your seat in the spectacular Courtroom.Explore the Cells.Experience the sounds and smells; try out the wooden beds and hammocks.Sample the punishments. Experience the Whipping Table; take your turn at the Crank Wheel. Meet the Warders, Matron and Prisoners who help to make your prison visit come to life!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Really Great Attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is well worth a visit. Complete with courtroom with recorded trials going on and 'pretend' Judge, Lawyers, Jury, Prisoners - you can sit and listen to several trials, very interesting. Plenty of 'Cells' to explore in the jail along with great info on what life was like there for the prisoners, staff, warden. Plenty of photos, jail records, descriptions of changes made over the years - we spent about 2 hours here to see everything - definitely recommend! And 10 pounds is a fair price for entry, considering what you get out of it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bally1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    361
    72
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Groupon offer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Visited Inveraray Jail today with my husband and 1 year old son. We had a groupon voucher giving us half price entry. I was shocked that the full price for an adult is £9.50. I thought that a bit steep especially after having to pay for car parking as well!

Spent 1-2 hours at the jail and found parts of it great ie the staff dressed up like people that used to work in the jail or even prisoners but felt there was too many empty cells with boards on the wall that you were suppose to read. Not a very large jail - expected it to be a lot bigger. Some parts of it are very interesting and the grounds are well kept.

If you are disabled or find stairs difficult to climb do not bother going as it would be a waste of your time! I felt they could involve children more as most visitors were left to walk round themselves.

The shop was quite pricey but I suppose that is to be expected!

Really glad I had the groupon offer as I think I would be really disappointed if I had paid full price for the entry! Could do a lot better. The place was not very busy for a sunny Saturday afternoon but then again I take it that is why they are doing groupon offers!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yummymummy9313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastically gruesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent a few hours visiting Inverary Jail with some friends including three children aged 11, 14 and 15. We all loved it! Lots of really interesting information some of which is really gruesome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank janeyaldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fun jump back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We decided to come to Inverary especially to visit the famous Inverary Jail and wasn't disappointed.
With it's traditional stone frontage in the center of town, you immediately get the feel of the jail as soon as you go through the front door.
As you enter, there are numerous displays that explain and also show(photo's or artwork) some of the incarceration techniques used over the years in Scotland. Also some examples of prisoners, their crimes and ultimately their punishment. Some, not for the light hearted.
You are then directed to the main yard where the entrances to both the original jail and the more modern (not modern at all) jail.
The character Period Jailer locks you in the roofless yard compound to offer you the experience of what the prisoners would have to endure in rain, hail OR shine just to get time out of their cells.
The cells were cramped and I still find it hard to comprehend the conditions that they had to endure for even the most simple of crimes.
The 'modern' jail, still Victorian, was built to accommodate the jail reforms that were introduced, but still....... hard going.
An interesting day and well worth a family visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Da-Reeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Visited on the 24th may,the jail is worth a visit to pass a couple of hours,my kids all enjoyed it,they are 2,4,5 and 13 years of age.theirs a lot of interesting information about the jail in the old days,staff are all friendly and helpfull, however we used a groupon voucher and when we arrived handed it over,the women couldnt make out the 3 codes she needed as my printer was running low on ink,but the bar code was fine.she totally refused to accept it.i had the voucher on my mobile phone only to discover the signal is terrible their,i had to walk up and down inverary for about 30 minutes to get a decent signal and retrieve the codes for the women!! So please remember and make sure any vouchers you use can be read properly or they wont accept them and you would have to pay full price to get in because they dont help you,their was 2 other couples their who had the same problem.

Anyway as for value I would never pay the full price their asking I dont think its worth that

Gift shop is ok and reasonable prices,i got a small jar of jam to try it was only £1-50

If you have walking difficulties the stairs could be a problem for you

Helpful?
Thank Bigyin2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inveraray Jail also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Benmore, Cowal Peninsula
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Inveraray Jail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing