We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing find”

Samphire Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Inveraray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Seafood restaurant using fresh locally sourced fish, meats and game.
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing find”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just had a wonderful meal at the Samphire Restaurant. Food was delicious - the fish pie was out of this world. Service was excellent and staff very friendly. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    59
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Seafood and Service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and recently visited this new restaurant while on holiday.
The young staff were very keen to make sure we enjoyed our meal. The seafood was very tasy and fresh.
The decor is stylish but not overpowering with great ambience. Would definitely recommend Samphire and will be going back next time we are in the area. Well done and many thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fifer2Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“well worth waiting for !”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

we have waited with baited breath for the opening of samphire and it lives up to all expectations - from starter to finish all was superb - the new delight to me of pork cheek was gorgeous and beloveds starter of mixed salmon was a decent plateful, main of hake with butterbean & chorizo stew/broth was amazing (nearly licked the plate clean) and rainbow trout beautiful, even had puds which is usual but had to try because the rest of the food was so good - all in all the best meal in ages anywhere!!! only drawback was lack of a slice of bread so that I could mop up my main course sauce !!!!!!!!! also a fab new Zealand white from the wine list - didn't matter to us that there is only one toilet because it was spotless - well done to all the family at samphire and the staff too and we will return as often as we can xx

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kateamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr and Mrs Snaith”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Inverarays newest eatery. Smart modern decor matched by superb food. The scallops to start were simply the best starter we have ever tasted. The lobster, the mussels and everything else was just wonderful. We were staying in Inveraray on our honeymoon and ate here on our second night and just had to come back again. Chef Andrew and his team were great. Thankypu

Helpful?
1 Thank 580604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fresh fish restaurant”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I'd recommend to book a day ahead as this small restaurant seats about 30 people. Always busy since it opened and I've no doubt it will be packed for years to come!

From the fairly small menu, that probably wouldn't suit children, we chose Fish Pie and Lobster. Both were very good and I said I only wished there was more of the pie! My girlfriend loved her first Lobster experience!

Excellent service from the waitress and we didn't feel rushed - I'm sure they had a fully booked night ahead. A must if you visit Inveraray.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dave2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samphire Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Strachur, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Samphire Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing