We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our first choice for future Oban trips”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #1 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Arran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our first choice for future Oban trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Even our side room had a good view, plus it was very clean and comfy, and a decent breakfast.
I chose Dunheanish for its position above the town but proximity to the 'folly' was a bonus - most way up to this lookout for our evening walk - sufficiently away from the main streets to explore the little houses but near enough to a good choice of restaurants for dinner. Dunheanish must be one of the newer Victorian houses in a well-kempt garden with a cleverly fitted-in car park; the breakfast room has a high ceiling and the harbour and islands beyond provided interest with marine traffic and changing colours. The bedroom was ensuite with all the usual facilities and comforts to a high standard of house-keeping. And all for £74!

Room Tip: Ask if the four poster is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    42
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
54
359
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The most beautiful B&B I have stayed in so far in the UK.
We had a room with a four poster bed, from which we had a view of the port. I have spent a good few hours just observing the light changing above the sea and the ships passing, whilst I was laying in the bed sipping tea and eating teacakes left there by the Dunheanish owners.
The room itself was stunning, the breakfast brilliant, William (the host) very helpful, knowledgable with a good dry Scottish humour.
I hope we will return one day, so that we can see the puffin collonies we missed by one week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EriSuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I were privileged to stay at Dunheanish recently. The house was lovely and well appointed. It was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. William is a gracious host who helped us to find the perfect place to have dinner while in Oban. Breakfast was very good and excellently presented. We were fortunate to have a room that looked out at the harbor and the islands. If we hadn't been heading for Mull we would have like to have stayed another night. We highly recommend this as a place to stay if you are in Oban.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out at the harbor--the view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTraveler014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

great view from the elevated location high on the hill. William was very helpful, useful local advice. We had to leave early for flight to Islay, early continental breakfast was no problem for William, very tasty and generous portions. Lovely house, very welcoming host.

Room Tip: Room 5 has great view of bay, upstairs but view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSnowInPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The house has a magnificent view, the rooms are very well equipped (our room had also a nice view over Oban bight) and William, the host, is really a gem. Breakfast was very good, the breakfast room has also sea view, which distracts from breakfast :-)) .

We regretted, that we spent only one night there.

Room Tip: We had a room with sea view - that was very nice at night and in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackPalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

William & Linda are wonderful hosts, who own the best B&B in Oban (in my humble opinion). The bedroom we had was spacious with a spectacular view of the bay; as well as, the bed being very comfortable...

The breakfast is more than ample to satisfy any appetite & delicious too!

Our only regret is that we wished that we could have stayed more than 1 night in this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: The front room with the bay view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornerstone278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This classic B&B has a commanding view of Oban, the harbor and the nearby isles. The building is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. The owners are absolutely charming and breakfast was dandy. With the winding streets it takes a minute to find but it is so worth it. Just a two minute walk to downtown.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.2 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Property: Dunheanish Guest House
Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing