We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
532
47
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
47
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed william linda steep hill mccaig's tower guest house breakfast was delicious bay window front of the house smoked salmon breakfast room place to stay overlooking oban a wonderful stay gorgeous views sense of humour b and b wonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Dunheanish occupies a commanding position, just below McCaig’s Tower. Parking is off the adjacent side street and proved to be a challenge for some of our fellow guests!

We received a warm welcome from owner William and were shown to a spacious room with a magnificent four-poster bed...and THAT view!! Huge picture windows opened out across Oban, the harbour, Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. It was utterly spell-binding and would have been worth paying for on its own!

Add in the very good breakfast and you’ll be hard pushed to find a better place to stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this place. From the beautiful exterior to the cozy room, this guest house was perfect. The shower was a little crazy but everything else was fine. The views are tremendous. It was quite an uphill walk to get there so I would suggest a cab if you come by train and are not fit. Well worth the walk though.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We only spent one night at the guest house but really enjoyed our stay. The bathroom was small for the size of the huge room we stayed in. The views were very nice in the evening and morning of the boats in the bay. The breakfast was very tasty and filling. Parking is a bit tricky by they can help you out. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terryg517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

This is one of the very best bed and breakfasts I've stayed at. We stayed in the largest room on the first floor which has unrivalled views of Oban and across the islands. The room is traditionally furnished and clean. The two chair and coffee table make a great place to have a drink in the evening and admire the view.

We also stayed in the room on the ground floor, this was also good and quiet despite being next to the front door,

Breakfast is tasty, and William is a wonderful host as he answers any questions we have about the area and introduces us to other guests.

There is parking for a few cars but its best to confirm this before getting there.

Well worth staying at.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for 3 nights. Our room which was on the ground floor was wonderful and spacious as was the bathroom. There was a large 4 poster bed and seating at the end of the bed and a huge window to look out at the harbor and the fact that the B&B was up on a hill gave you great views of the bay. Binoculors were provided on the window sill. The noise factor was almost non existent. The parking on the property was limited and we were able to park in one of the spaces during our stay which was a good thing considering the amount of luggage we had. It was also possible to park below in front of the B&B and take the stairs to entrance. Breakfasts were delicious and plenty, especially the porridge. The breakfast room also gave you wonderful views of the bay, so grab a table that's near the window. The walk to the town was about 5 minutes easy going downhill but quite a hike going back up and actually was good exercise but could be daunting. William and his wife were excellent hosts and took the time to converse with everybody and made you feel welcomed. If in Oban again will definitely stay at Dunheanish B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelbugdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews