We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star B&B!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Cliff Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Cliff Guest House
Ranked #26 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star B&B!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This beautiful and elegant B&B is located minutes from the downtown square. Maureen, our host was warm, friendly, and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent and abundant! Special diet options were available. The beds were memory foam and soooo comfortable!! The rooms were decorated with exquisite taste as well. In short, this B&B is one of the best you'll find!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukonklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
129
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is just a fantastic guest house for a stay in Oban. The standard of accomofdation and hospitality provided by Maureen and Mike is second to none. The decor and comfort of the bedrooms is superb with great attention paid to every detail, even down to the pop up TV from the foot of the bed. The breakfast is cooked to order and is excellent. The range of cereals, cold cuts, cheese and fruit on offer will satisfy any dietry needs. All in all an exceptional place to stay and would highly reccommend High Cliff to anyone thinking of visiting Oban.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Can't fault this place, rooms are beautifully decorated, food was lovely & nice location. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

High Cliff is a gem of a place - it is a short walk out of bustling Oban, has beautiful rooms - the best hotel breakfast we had ever had and amazing, warm and genuine hospitality from the owner Maureen. From the moment Maureen and Mike share their beautiful living room with you - to the pure crystal glasses at breakfast, the delicious freshly prepared breakfast, to the spotlessly clean rooms and bathroom - it is a pleasure. Nothing is too much trouble - from recommending the best places to eat, to chatting about the area and generally being great hosts - I wouldn't stay anywhere else now in Oban and would recommend it highly. We stayed at High Cliff en route to the island of Colonsay and it worked perfectly - Maureen every prepared us a packed brunch instead of breakfast - top notch service from a lovely lady - what a find.
The rooms either have a TV that pops out of the end of the bed or on the wall and our room had a cool lit-up mirror with touch on/off while my girls' twin room at the back which was beautifully furnished in cream and light colours had a great 3-D mirror with amazing walk-in shower - attention to detail second to none. Liked the chocs by the bed and real coffee in the rooms - faultless.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have a nice view over Oban but there is also a gorgeous room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinaRustington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsberg am Lech, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the Tiree room. Superbly appointed accomodation and en suite facilities. Our bed had a TV that popped up from the bottom and I had some of the best nights sleep on a trip i'd ever had.... Maureen and Mike couldn't have done enough for us, even making flasks for our walks in the morning. The breakfasts were superb we had smoked haddock and eggs on two nights but the full scottish was amazing.
its a definite must next time we are in Oban.

Room Tip: The Lismore and Tiree Coll face out from the front and have a pop out TV from the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raff40035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

A most charming residence with a welcoming host. Couldn't have been better looked after in a 5-star hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cthonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Overall I liked the rooms and the facilities on offer. We were made very welcome during our stay. The room was clean , the facilities were excellent, with an en-suite bathroom. Even facing the road we hardly noticed the noise. Lovely, filling breakfast which was more than I could cope with. I would visit here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
0.6 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#23 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Briarbank Guest House
1.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
3.8 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cliff Guest House

Property: High Cliff Guest House
Address: High Cliff Glencruitten Road, Oban PA34 4EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — High Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Cliff Guest House has been a B & B in excess of 100 years awarded a 4 Star PLus we take pride in our hospitality and our reputation. Situated in a quiet part of town a few minutes level walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your High Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cliff Guest House Hotel Oban
High Cliff Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing