We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Cliff Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$264
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$180
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
223
39
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
39
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslismore roomguest houseb btoilet seatbreakfast menu isscallopslovely couplebrilliant stayshort walkrooms are beautifulvaried choicegreat hostshome from homepacked breakfastrecommend staying herewithin easy walking distancequiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Here everything works. Owner is very friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and important as a guest. Excellent service and breakfast. Decorations might not be for everybody, but a couple of days of glitz and glam will hurt noone. Close to the town centre as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerona72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

No idea about other comments but despite the opulence the decor is tasteful & clearly high quality. Having china cups & cut glass wine glasses as well as chocolate mints & luxury shortbread in the rooms was fabulous. Maureen is a lovely hostess who informed us of the dogs prior to booking - they are delightful & the place is pristine - no hairs anywhere. The choice of fresh fruit on the morning was unique and the choice and quality of cooked breakfast better than many high priced hotels. Maureen also recommended excellent restaurants & was a genuinely lovely lady. We welcome an opportunity to return & my two sons with partners in tow all said what a lovely place it was to stay. Maureen even made hot chocolate for my youngest son who said it was excellent quality. Take no notice of any derogatory comments - it is lovely, fairly priced & easy walking distance into Oban.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clairyork727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had our little son as well. Myself and my husband had a great time visiting Oban for the first time. Our stay here was just perfect. Maureen gave us a very warm hospitality throughout our stay. The place is well beautifully done and each room has its own theme and matched well accordingly. The breakfast had a good variety from cereals, fruits, juices, and you will also be given cooked breakfast whatever you desire. There are 3 dogs but you will hardly hear their voice. My 3 year old son loved playing with them.
We will certainly be back once my son grows little old and would recommend it to friends & others for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jyoti_nagpal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Maureen was very welcoming on arrival offering tips of where to eat and places to see, as it was our first visit to Oban. The room although small was tastefully decorated everything toning in, with all the expected facilities, very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean and of a high standard. The breakfast was a good hearty breakfast and Maureen would cook you almost anything you requested if you asked the night before, very obliging. A very enjoyable stay and would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The welcome I received when arriving was warm and very welcoming, the passage areas are beautifully decorated as you walk up the stairs to your room. My room was also beautifully done and had a lovely theme for colour and everything matched this copper theme. The bathroom was also beautiful with a light up mirror and lovely bath and shower. Everywhere was so clean and you could tell the cleaners took pride in their work.
The breakfast menu was displayed at the stairs so u could have a look at night and let the owner know if u had any special requirements or just let her know what u fancied the next morning. When arriving in the dinning room their was a lovely selection of fruit and cereals before you had your cooked or continental breakfast.
A truly fabulous stay and can not wait to stay again
Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews