We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Cliff Guest House
Ranked #18 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here two nights in July. Good location near the town centre by foot. Room quite small and the decor a bit wild. Ok if you like lots of shiny curtains and glass baubles and ornaments everywhere. It was a bit too much - verging on the tacky. Breakfast was good apart from day 2 when my husbands bacon was burnt to a cinder and was uneatable. The breakfast was also huge - more is not always good. My main quibble is the dogs being kept in the dining room and the kitchen - a big turn off. But ok for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymakerstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for High Cliff Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were so glad we had booked in for three night at this unique and delightful B&B run by the gorgeous Maureen and her delightful partner Mike. We did not want to leave. Our camera shutters were clicking the moment we arrived - what amazing decor! Never stayed anywhere that has a glittering toilet seat! We weren't travelling light which was a bit difficult in our little twin but that small inconvenience was totally overshadowed my the warmth of our hosts and of course the delightful Robyn and her two fluffy mates. We would go to Scotland again just to stay at High Cliff (:-).

Room Tip: Just ask for one of the rooms in the front
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed one night before catching ferry to the isles.. Convenient location, walking distance to town. Room small, becomes tricky if you have anything more than weekend bags. Decor an acquired taste. Range of options available for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loveborderterriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at High Cliff for 4 nights (10 Aug to 14), the welcome we received could not have been warmer. The house is immaculate, from the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and at home. The beds are comfortable, the location is quiet which made for a good night's sleep. Star attraction - Maureen's breakfasts. You would be hard pressed to find better in a top class hotel, the choice and quality was first class, order the night before and your food is freshly cooked, served in the lovely dining room. When we go to Oban again we will look no further and go back to High Cliff. Best wishes to Maureen and Mike for the future. The location is good and there is off road parking, just a 10 minute walk to the harbour and town centre. Maureen had some good information on places to visit and to eat out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlracer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Taken together it is difficult to flaw High Cliff. It's obviously maintained by someone who is passionate about hosting. A great deal of thought has gone into decorating the rooms. The highlight of the stay was breakfast. Served in a sumptuously decorated dining room, around a large beautifully adorned dining table. It has to be experienced to be believed. If I was pushed to find flaws, well, some might find the room we stayed in a bit small (but there were larger rooms), and the pull chain flush on our toilet was a bit iffy. I would recommend it here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitedRecently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My son and I stayed at High Cliff and were very impressed! Maureen was incredibly warm and friendly an we greatly enjoyed our 2 night stay! Maureen had a bag all ready for us before our early morning trip filled with muffins and a packed lunch for our excursion. I can't say enough about our positive experience. Dogs were great and super friendly! Room was very comfortable with tea, shortbread and chocolates. Super comfortable! Only problem is that now my son is dying for a glitter toilet seat! :). A must stay when you go to Oban!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kathleenme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Here everything works. Owner is very friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and important as a guest. Excellent service and breakfast. Decorations might not be for everybody, but a couple of days of glitz and glam will hurt noone. Close to the town centre as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerona72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cliff Guest House

Address: High Cliff Glencruitten Road, Oban PA34 4EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Cliff Guest House has been a B & B in excess of 100 years awarded a 4 Star PLus we take pride in our hospitality and our reputation. Situated in a quiet part of town a few minutes level walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cliff Guest House Hotel Oban
High Cliff Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing