We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B in Oban; Excellent Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Cliff Guest House
Ranked #19 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My sister and I stayed for 3 nights at High Cliff Guest House while on vacation in September. Yes, the room was small, but it was clean, quiet, cozy, and safe. We were not there to spend time in the room, just needed a comfy place to sleep. Maureen and Mike are excellent hosts, very welcoming and outgoing. Breakfast was amazing....many options and Mike is a great cook! Also, we really liked having our breakfast at one table with other guests as it was nice to share vacation stories and get suggestions from other travelers. We would stay there again if we get back to Oban and we recommend it to others. We spent two weeks traveling in Scotland, staying at B & Bs, and the price was on target. Parking is a huge plus, and nice distance for walking to and from town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

By the time I had reached Oban and we drove to High Cliff which provides private parking, I felt I had known Mike and Maureen for a long time. Mike welcomed us into their home and showed us to our beautiful and spacious rooms. Everything was spotless, toiletries and hairdryer, Scottish biscuits, tea, bottled water and coffee provided in the rooms. I was traveling with friends so we can gather in a sitting room to talk to Mike and Maureen and fellow guests. High Cliff is a short walk to Oban for shopping, restaurants, and catching the ferry or train. I had to leave early both days and was unavailable to enjoy Maureen's breakfasts however she packed a wonderful breakfast for the train ride. I wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy High Cliff, Maureen and Mike and I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LatchS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early September, and then for another night on our return from Coll. Both the rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. We travelled by train to Oban and High Cliff is only 10-15 minutes walk from the station and harbour and yet in a quiet place so ideal for people wanting to use trains or ferries. The breakfasts were great with excellent variety on offer. When we needed to leave before breakfast to catch our ferry Mike provided us with a great packed breakfast! There is also a comfortable guest lounge to sit in and private parking (which we didn't need on this occasion). It is an easy walk down to the shops and restaurants in the town. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Well, 4 nights at the High Cliff and both myself and my girlfriend were extremely happy with our stay!
The rooms were exactly as described and were like in the photo's. The rooms are an acquired taste, but exactly what we were looking for and in our opinion nice and modern.
The breakfasts were filling and well cooked.
The location is superb just a 10 minute walk into Oban where there are plenty of restaurants and things to do.
A brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larissa y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here two nights in July. Good location near the town centre by foot. Room quite small and the decor a bit wild. Ok if you like lots of shiny curtains and glass baubles and ornaments everywhere. It was a bit too much - verging on the tacky. Breakfast was good apart from day 2 when my husbands bacon was burnt to a cinder and was uneatable. The breakfast was also huge - more is not always good. My main quibble is the dogs being kept in the dining room and the kitchen - a big turn off. But ok for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymakerstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were so glad we had booked in for three night at this unique and delightful B&B run by the gorgeous Maureen and her delightful partner Mike. We did not want to leave. Our camera shutters were clicking the moment we arrived - what amazing decor! Never stayed anywhere that has a glittering toilet seat! We weren't travelling light which was a bit difficult in our little twin but that small inconvenience was totally overshadowed my the warmth of our hosts and of course the delightful Robyn and her two fluffy mates. We would go to Scotland again just to stay at High Cliff (:-).

Room Tip: Just ask for one of the rooms in the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed one night before catching ferry to the isles.. Convenient location, walking distance to town. Room small, becomes tricky if you have anything more than weekend bags. Decor an acquired taste. Range of options available for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loveborderterriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.9 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#13 of 94 in Oban
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cliff Guest House

Address: High Cliff Glencruitten Road, Oban PA34 4EW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: £61 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Cliff Guest House has been a B & B in excess of 100 years awarded a 4 Star PLus we take pride in our hospitality and our reputation. Situated in a quiet part of town a few minutes level walk from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your High Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cliff Guest House Hotel Oban
High Cliff Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing