We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenbervie Guest House
Ranked #47 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beware!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Tried to book this by phone for one night for four of us but fell foul of their 'two nights minimum' policy. There was no negotiation possible with Wilma & no suggestion forthcoming regarding alternative accommodation. Highland hospitality I think not! Did not actually travel there but had to choose a date to allow this opinion to be submitted

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    25
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
36
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arriving in Oban after a long journey with our 2 year old -we were rudely told by this guesthouse that they don't accept children!- which was strange as we had e-mailed and booked beforehand saying who was coming and when.They had even e-mailed back to confirm time of arrival etc.
Nobody opened the door for about 5 minutes then we were rudely sent away again with no apology whatsoever.I got the impression they had double booked the room.
Not a pleasant start to our holiday at all...........

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_20102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed in Room 6, a small attic room. I say the room was small, and it was, but it was very clean, comfortable and well presented. A good supply of tea, coffee etc. was provided too. Breakfast was lovely though the time frame was a little tight, 8 - 8:30 on a Sunday is a little early for me but it wasn't a great problem. Ideally located for going into town. We left our car in there off-street parking and walked down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamieLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the place I was looking forward to the most and was unfortunately very disappointed. It was a beautiful Victorian building, but the room was VERY small. We received an email once in the UK saying we were unable to stay there as they had double booked the room, but it was discovered that it was their mistake and we were still able to stay the two nights we had already booked. We asked for a water view room but didn't get it and was told to sit in the lounge to enjoy the view. When we told Iain that the toilet seat was broken, he said he would fix it but didn't and my husband got injured. We had a double room with only a double bed and we had to walk sideways between the bed and the wall to get past. I asked if I could have a very hard fried egg and was told no because the water was on to poach. They weren't very friendly and the overall experience was extremely disappointing. I would not recommend this guest house to anyone, nor would I return. The best thing was the location as it was an easy walk into town.

Room Tip: Only have one front room with sea views - good luck with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Really lovely B&B. Great location. An easy walk into Oban where there is plenty to see and do.
The views from the sitting room and outdoor area is lovely. Although the rooms are quite small, the guest lounge more than makes up for it. A bonus was off street parking.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Excellent, clean & tidy guest house. Lovely breakfast, owners are very friendly, great location overlooking the bay. 5 minute walk to the main area, safe off road parking. Our room & our son's room were very clean & well stocked up with tea/coffee sweets etc. Good value for money as well.

Room Tip: Room 6, attic room, great view of Oban bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveTreeCafeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wegberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

A very good B&B, located in quit street in Oban.
Good breakfast, nice host and wonderful view to Oban-Bay.
A short cut to city and harbour led through the back garden.
Parking direct on frontside.
Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henni-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
0.1 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#52 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Old Manse Guest House
4.1 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#1 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbervie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbervie Guest House

Property: Glenbervie Guest House
Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenbervie an STB 4* Guest House is beautifully situated overlooking Oban Bay and commands magnificent views to the islands of Kerrera and Mull, yet is only 5 minutes from town centre. Your hosts Iain and Joan have welcomed guests to Glenbervie since 1982 and in that time have tastefully refurbished this Victorian house to a luxurious standard, comprising of 5 double rooms, 1 twin room and 2 single rooms. Off street parking for 6 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glenbervie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenbervie Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing